The Top Ten Best Songs of 2023

Wyatt Nun
14 min readDec 28, 2023

--

Hey y’all! My name is Wyatt Nun and I’m a part-time music guy. Welcome to my list of The Top Ten Best Songs of 2023! I’m warning y’all now — this is a weird list. There are critically-acclaimed tracks included, but some of these cuts will not be found on other blogs. It was a big bounce back year for rock, and a large dropoff for hip-hop. Despite country’s rough year in the mainstream, it has a pretty noticeable presence on my list. Plus, there are some “genreless” songs here too. With that being said, the guidelines for this list are that the song had to be officially released in 2023, (older songs on albums released in 2023 or leaks do not count) and only one song per act was chosen, so love could be shown to more artists. Please take note that these are just my opinions. Before getting into the top ten, let’s blow through some honorable mentions.

HONORABLE MENTIONS

“captain” — redveil

Of all the new rappers that caught traction in 2023, I am shocked that redveil wasn’t one of them. His sound is refreshing both in the flow and the beats. Any of the songs off his playing w/ fire EP could have taken this spot, but I decided to roll with “captain.” Lyrically, it’s nothing special — just a flashy flex anthem with word play that puts him ahead of many other rookies. Now, where this track wins me over is in the production. Between the swamped out bass, gorgeous horns and elegant background vocalists, it creates an electric vibe, which allows him to play around with his vocals. This track is fun as hell. Please make it a hit next year.

“Where the Wild Things Are” — Luke Combs

Speaking of songs that should be huge in 2024, Luke Combs just pushed “Where the Wild Things Are” to radio a few weeks ago. It’ll only be a matter of time until it hits the top of the country charts — and for good reason. The tale of two brothers separated by passions, it’s the keen details about this sibling relationship that afford this spin some much needed depth. The guitars here give the track an edge that fits the lyrical content’s power. Combs’ studio band understood the assignment and completed it with proficiency. Once again, no reason why this song can’t be massive next year. Let’s make it happen.

“ONE MORE TIME” — Blink-182

If the merits of my list were based on emotional resonance alone, this pick would be in my top five. Blink is one of my all-time favorite bands, so of course an ode to their career is going to pull at my heartstrings. This track takes a look back at the tragedies each member has faced since the Mark, Tom and Travis show ended in 2013 and how they came out the otherside alive. It’s a super straightforward composition, complete with acoustic guitars, a simple snare drum and beautiful bells. The song’s simplicity kept it out of the top ten, but I was very tempted. I’ll gush more about the guys on my albums list, but for now, let’s just appreciate the fact that Blink-182 is alive and well in 2023.

“Ghost Me” — Holly Humberstone

For the second year in a row, an indie pop artist makes my list with a song about ghosting. Shocking how that happens. Anyways, “Ghost Me” rules. The warm mix contrasts nicely with Humberstone’s fears of abandonment. She’s living her life on tour, but can’t help but think no one will be there for her when she returns. I love how the track is more of a plea for them to stay as opposed to looking in the rearview. The “Don’t you dare” on the hook is so gripping in its efforts to keep these people in her circle. It’s also one of the most danceable songs of the year. Most importantly, as someone who struggles with imposter syndrome pretty frequently, this one cut deep. An excellent song from a promising new artist.

“love is embarrassing” — Olivia Rodrigo

The last selection to be cut from my top ten and a song that would’ve made it had there been one more additional verse or bridge. Rodrigo’s energy on “love is embarrassing” is infectious. It’s easily the most rock-inspired song on the album. She channels her inner “riot girl” while venting over how dumb crushes are now that her teenage years are over. The writing is melodramatic in the best way possible and really sells the insanity. The vocal inflections here are the most diverse in her discography and they elevate the track from great to amazing. There were plenty of solid songs on GUTS, but of course, it’s the pop-punk banger that takes the cake for me.

Now, we can move into the list proper, starting with…

#10

The story of this song is one I was familiar with long before the record dropped. I was supposed to see these guys live in 2019, but a cascade of personal issues led to them going on an extended hiatus. There was a chance the band would never reunite. They eventually did, and this song soundtracks the most heartwarming comeback of 2023…

“Brought Me” — Turnpike Troubadours

It’s hard for me to describe how wild it is that Evan Felker hit rock bottom and rode out of the rut a changed man. He, however, does it with precision. This song isn’t about his journey to sobriety but rather rebuilding his life once achieving it. There’s two interpretations I take from this song. The first, him rekindling with his wife following their divorce and their decision to try again. The second, a plea to Turnpike Troubadour fans to welcome them back to the stage. It’s a real smart song, with Felker balancing the good times before the hiatus with all the memories ahead of them. The band is superb on this track. The percussion and fiddle in particular do an amazing job adding little details to the spin. Yet, my favorite moment comes in the final verse, where the band finds themselves back home in Cain’s Ballroom, looking forward to the future. I’m so glad the Turnpike Troubadours have returned because it means we get amazing cuts about the journey back.

#9

Hip-hop had a rough year both in the mainstream and the underground scene. Whereas last year was one of the best years for the genre I can remember, I walked away from 2023 with little that impressed me. If I’m being honest, there was never a contest against what would eventually be my favorite rap track of the year…

“Beloved! Paradise! Jazz?” — McKinley Dixon Feat. Ms. Jaylin Brown

A large reason why I think the title track from McKinley Dixon’s last album works so well for me is he keeps it real — both in lyricism and instrumentation. It’s fitting that the overall arc of this song and album at large are named after Toni Morrison’s decade-spanning trilogy on African-American history. “Beloved! Paradise! Jazz?” encompasses the record’s themes of the challenges Black individuals encounter at different points during their youth and how they can always find solace in those closest to them. Their shared experiences help them bond and face injustices together. All of this is carried by a great live-tracked arrangement of drums, horns and harmonies that help the audience immerse themselves in the atmosphere. Tying the track together is Ms. Jasmine Brown, who gives the chorus a soothing feel with her angelic voice. I had the realization last year that my favorite rap songs are the ones that bring me comfort, and I don’t think there was a better example in 2023 than this spin.

#8

A big theme on last year’s list for me was nostalgia. 2022 gave us plenty of great tunes about looking back on fond memories. There weren’t as many examples of that this time around, but this duo made sure to give listeners at least one trip down memory lane this year…

“American Gothic” — Stephen Wilson Jr. Feat. Hailey Whitters

My first exposure to this song was not a recording but a live performance when I saw the two of them play it back in March. One might think that makes this selection a bit biased, but I honestly believe this song would’ve ended up on my list regardless. It’s a country track that carries a lot of power with its gritty guitars and hazy production. That’s before getting to the voices of Wilson Jr. and Whitters, which despite their differences in tone, coincide real well. They’re a fitting combo for this spin. The song talks about “real life living” in their hometowns. Coming from small communities in Indiana and Iowa respectively, they highlight the simple pleasures that characterized their upbringings. It does carry a bit of the list-driven songwriting that mainstream country has caught flack for, but the references here are a lot more specific and fun than what Nashville radio has to offer. Stephen Wilson Jr. was one of my biggest stars of 2023 thanks to his unique sound and steadfast swagger. I’m glad he got the cosign from Hailey Whitters so the two of them could deliver this barnburner.

#7

I feel like I need to make a clarification before getting into this next selection. My seventh favorite song of 2023 isn’t actually about satanism…

“Satanist” — boygenius

I mean, it’s not… kinda. Julien Baker says she was inspired by the documentary Hail Satan and everything it had to say about people joining the ideology in masses. This later spiraled into a spin about leading a life of anarchy with her boys. The track is saying that life can be as reckless and chaotic as it wants, as long as there is a group of people to enjoy it together. It’s easily the most rocking song on the record, sporting cutting riffs courtesy of Baker. While she handles the guitar and lead vocals on the track, both Phoebe Bridgers and Lucy Dacus fulfill their roles on the track with a fiery excellence. I will say this track is not perfect. The outro to this one is a minute long and slows down the intense pace. It feels out of place on an otherwise striking song. If not for the end, this cut easily lands in the top three of the year for me. As is, it’s still a damn good jam that only boygenius could sell.

#6

Midwest emo quietly had one of its best outings in recent memory this year. Plenty of acts that I had enjoyed previously went from good to great in my eyes thanks to their efforts. However, I don’t think there was a group that surprised me more in 2023 than these guys. I mean, they are the self-proclaimed #1 hot new band after all…

“Gans Media Retro Games” — Hot Mulligan

I’m going to make a wild comparison to a song I just talked about on my Best Hit Songs list; this is a sister track “Anti-Hero.” Yes, I’m serious. They both handle the realization that maybe the problem has always been themselves and deal with the issue with copious amounts of alcohol. But whereas Taylor Swift handles her new reality with glossy synths and expensive arrangements, this song feels a lot more messy. Let me emphasize that that is not a bad thing. Tades Sanville’s unclean vocals paired with the fuzzy production and explosive instrumentals create an atmosphere that illustrates the anxiety he’s facing. The band said in interviews this song is about only being able to focus on the bad parts of themselves and losing touch with those closest to them. That may not be a happy sentiment but it sure is a real one. Hot Mulligan just found a way to channel that energy into a song about psychoanalyzing why it’s self-destructive. It may just be another Midwest emo cut with a goofy name. Yet, there’s no denying how much fun I’ve had with this somber song.

#5

I’m not even going to try to assign a genre to this one. It’s by a country artist but follows a more alternative-focused composition, sporting lyrics that blow most of this year’s bedroom-pop breakup ballads out of the water. This is a roundabout way of saying Kelsea Ballerini made the best divorce song I’ve ever heard…

“Mountain With A View” — Kelsea Ballerini

She has had quite the past two years. Going from Heartfirst, an album about the joys of love, to this is quite a jarring switch up. Nevertheless, it was a necessary one for the Knoxville artist. For those not in the know, her EP this year detailed her split from fellow country artist Morgan Evans and how he essentially put her on blast the moment their relationship ended. He accused her of never giving him a chance and being the one to deteriorate their love. “Mountain With A View” is Ballerini’s side of the story. She confirms that she was the one to call things off but not without good reason. Between him never being home and refusing to take advice they’d received in couples therapy, she got tired of convincing herself everything was fine. The atmospheric production allows this song to soar as she vents it all out. The final bridge drives the nail in the coffin as she takes off the ring and bids farewell. It’s a melodramatic retelling that lands every single punch. Kelsea Ballerini took the hardest decision she’s ever had to make and turned it into one of the year’s best songs.

#4

When I first heard this cut, I didn’t consider it a standout from the album. It’s a lowkey tune about the emotional impact of the pandemic. We’ve had plenty of these over the last three years. However, as I gave it more spins, it became evidently clear that it belonged on this list…

“Middle of the Morning” — Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit

It was between this and “King of Oklahoma” all year for what song off of Weathervanes would be my pick. While that latter selection’s southern rock prowess gives more of an impact sonically, it was the former’s emotional gut punch that won me over. The arrangement falls in very familiar territory for the band. Pianos, strings and varied percussion come together to make a mix as comforting as a country sunrise. This gorgeous instrumentation disguises Isbell’s devastating tale of the “farmhand’s ghost.” I mentioned above that this is yet another song about lockdown. However, where most of the pandemic anthems focus on the struggles of not being on the road, this song details the conflicts faced in his own home. The track recounts him and his wife Amanda Shires feeling disconnected at a time where they were stuck in the same house. They were facing their own demons and didn’t know how to console the other. Between trying to fix himself and help his spouse, Jason is exhausted by the end of the spin, so much so that he doesn’t even realize he’s crying as the song fades to silence. Of all the big and bold songs the Alabama outfit dropped this year, it’s the methodical slowburn that sneaks its way into my top five.

#3

Unlike my last pick, I immediately recognized this as its album’s standout. So how about we invite Zach Bryan back to my Best Songs list for the second straight year…

“East Side of Sorrow” — Zach Bryan

Last year, Bryan clinched a spot with “Billy Stay,” a song dealing with the loss of memory. It’s only fitting that this cut is about moving on from bad memories for a better tomorrow. Highlighting struggles from overseas and the death of his mother, Bryan makes sure to not let go of his optimistic look on life. It’s a comeback song of sorts, where he has to climb out of the depths of his own mind to survive. The track has this rollicking composition filled with acoustic guitars, drums and heavenly horns. It’s going for this larger-than-life sound and sticks the landing with ease. It’s not the first time he’s produced his own song, but it may just be his best attempt so far. My favorite moment in the track, however, comes in its final verse, where Bryan gives a shoutout to the return of a band we’ve already seen on the list; the Turnpike Troubadours. He saw how Evan Felker won his battle and uses the new tunes as inspiration to keep going. Hearing the Tahlequah boys get a shoutout on a song this huge almost brings a tear to my eye. It’s a glorious cut that I refuse to let go unnoticed.

#2

There’s not a universe where this song doesn’t make my list. It was my most anticipated release coming into the year and for good reason. The king of Dirt Emo has never disappointed, and the leadoff single to his latest era was no different…

“The Weakness” — Ruston Kelly

When this dropped, it was both nothing like the rest of Ruston Kelly’s discography, but also fit right at home in his catalog. The heavier tone, range of vocal inflections and implementation of synths was not a lane I saw him taking. With that in mind, the criticisms I’ve seen of this song for those reasons feel unjust. He does an astounding job going out of his comfort zone without sacrificing his artistry. Yet, it’s not the instrumentation I come for with Ruston Kelly. He’s my favorite songwriter of all time and I was excited to hear what he had to offer on “The Weakness.” Here’s what I have to say: it’s the perfect transition from the end of the Shape & Destroy era. Those of us in the know, knew that this would be the divorce album for Kelly. While it’s not the sole focus, the impact is all over the project at large and starts with this track. As the opening track, it’s an uplifting moment of uncertainty where he has to tell himself and the listeners that we have to be strong. He’s finding himself thinking of her at mundane times and has to use all of his strength to not collapse. All these thoughts are telling him to lose control but he refuses. I’m not going to quote the iconic yell on the bridge, but if you know you know. This song dropped in January and kicked off what ended up being an amazing year in music. It was my most listened to song of 2023 and held the top spot on this list for a long while. Who possibly could have come in and dethroned my favorite artist?

#1

My favorite song of the year is tough to talk about just because it’s a bit of a personal pick for me. It’s a song that ended up meaning a whole lot to some very important people in my life. I’d be shocked if this is anyone else’s top track for 2023. Yet, in a year where I really needed a cathartic release, Spanish Love Songs delivered the right song at the right time. And thus…

“Haunted” — Spanish Love Songs

There are so many elements of this track that just work. The pulsating synths that rev the song to life. The emotive vocal timbre of Dylan Slocum. The blend of midwestern emo and heartland rock that I didn’t know I needed. I could go on and on about the tiny little details, but it boils down to this; “Haunted” is a song that understands dealing with depression. I don’t mean facing internal battles, but watching loved ones succumb to their inner demons. From failed relationships to accepting death — there’s a number of reasons why this person finds no joy. On top of that, there’s no way of knowing what they need or how to get them the help they require. It can be devastating to watch best friends and family not only have these problems, but to turn away attempts at therapy or intervention in favor of acceptance that it may just be this bleak forever. A good number of the songs on my list this year deal with mental health, but whereas those see the central character coming to terms with their problems, this song is much harder to grasp. It’s watching this person fade in and out of their own existence, not knowing if there’s any way to fix it. In spite of all of this, you keep trying. You convince them they’re not haunted, or cursed, or alone. That you are in this together. The rest of the band fills Dylan’s writing with a composition so optimistic it raises one of the darkest songs of the year to angelic heights. Then, in the closing seconds, as this person sits alone in their living room, they finally break down and answer the call for help. It’s an ending that makes me cry every single time. Like I said, there is not a doubt in my mind. “Haunted” by Spanish Love Songs is my favorite song of 2023.

That was my list! I’m interested to hear what your favorite songs were, so feel free to drop them in the replies. In the next couple days, I’ll be releasing my list of the best albums of the year, so be on the lookout for that. If this is your first time visiting my page, consider sticking around. I post mostly sports content, but I’m also your part-time music guy. Thank you so much for clicking on this article and I hope you have a splendid holiday season.

--

--