My 7 Favorite Free Apps

Thirty Days To X
3 min readMay 3, 2017

Here’s a quick but useful article about seven free apps I enjoy.

There’s a good chance you already use some of them, but hopefully there are a few here you haven’t tried yet.

Anyway, here’s the list. Enjoy!

1. Duolingo

Learn a new language while you’re on the toilet!

Seriously though, Duolingo is a free program that let’s you a variety of languages in your free time.

I’ve been using this app for years and it’s helped me immensely with Spanish and French.

2. Google Keep

This is an excellent little tool for writing down ideas, making to-do lists, and drawing doodles.

Best of all, whatever you’ve created can be uploaded from Keep to your regular Google account.

In fact, I’m currently writing this article on Keep before pasting the text into Medium.

3. CamScanner

Here’s a weird but useful app I discovered while helping my dad organize some boring legal documents.

Basically this an app that turns your camera into a PDF scanner. It’s good if you ever need to create digital copies of a physical document.

4. Whatsapp

If you ever read travel forums you’ll see undoubtedly see plenty of people asking how to get local phone service in whatever country they’re visiting.

Personally, I’ve never bothered looking into this.

Instead of buying a local SIM card and fiddling around with some random countries data plan, just use WhatsApp.

Free international messaging between users, and it’s rare to meet a local on any continent who doesn’t use it.

5. Google Voice

I haven’t paid for phone service since 2014.

Why?

Because of Google Voice.

This is a free (though it may initially cost some money to get a number), VOIP app that lets you make calls and send texts for no cost.

I use this app as my “business line” whenever I need to call clients over the phone.

6. Kindle

I do a lot of travel, and bringing paperback books along is just too difficult.

Because of this, I really enjoy Amazon’s free Kindle app.

This is the program I always use for reading eBooks, and it requires nothing but a basic Amazon account (many people mistakenly believe you need to own a Kindle in order to use the Kindle app).

Easy to read, simple to use, and a great way to endure that you always have a book with you.

7. AutoDesk Pixlr

If you run a blog or website, you’re going to want to take lots of pictures.

A good picture will enhance your articles and content, driving home whatever point you’re trying to convey.

However, bad pictures look sloppy and distracting.

(Here’s What This App Can Do)

AutoDesk Pixlr is a good way to make sure youve always got photos worth sharing.

This is a simple picture editing app that lets you add filters, adjust lighting, and do a whole bunch of other “post production” work that polishes your pictures perfectly.

Plus, there’s a great collage option that’s really good for making before and after photos.

--

--