Starbucks S’mores Frappuccino Review: A cup full of chocolate.

Alex Rowe
2 min readMay 18, 2017

I know that the S’mores Frappuccino is not “new” per se, and is in fact a returning favorite…but until this morning I never had one.

Here are my thoughts.

Oh also, I didn’t decide to write this exceptionally-professional review until I had already sipped my drink several times, so here is a picture of my partially-empty drink.

S’mores contain chocolate, graham cracker, and marshmallow…and the Frappuccino version sort of contains all of these things.

And by “sort of” I just mean it contains a crapload of chocolate and also some coffee somewhere.

And also some weird magical marshmallow whipped cream.

I’ve never made whipped cream. But I understand the basics. Somehow this whipped cream tastes like marshmallows. Probably through some sugary syrup.

It works…but the practical result is that occasionally your chocolatey chocolate drink tastes a little more creamy and vaguely of marshmallow.

I sound like I’m being hard on this drink. I don’t mean to be. It tastes very good and fun. It’s even smoother and lighter than the recent Midnight Mint Mocha Frap…something I didn’t think was possible. It feels entirely like a kids drink that’s made for adults.

Can you taste the coffee? Hah. Good one! I can’t taste the coffee at all. The first sip had something in it I thought might be coffee, but mostly I just taste creamy chocolate.

That might be a bummer if you’re a coffee enthusiast. I know the truly elite coffee drinker would probably never be caught dead drinking a Frappuccino…but I bet they do it anyway when no one is looking. Don’t worry. Your secret is safe with me.

Part of what I like about the regular Frap Lineup(tm) is that you can still taste the coffee even though you’re just drinking a milkshake. You can fool yourself into thinking you’re drinking real coffee and not just a delicious confection.

Not so with the S’mores drink!

It’s chocolate with some more chocolate and some marshmallow taste. And some fake cookie crumble business sprinkled on top. Unlike in the Midnight Mint, those crumbles don’t really pervade the rest of the drink. They don’t really sink down in. So they’re just a weird cookie garnish to remind you that a real S’more has crackers in it.

The S’mores Frappuccino is a good milkshake with a really strong taste of chocolate syrup that also probably has caffeine in it. The marshmallow whipped cream is good and I would probably order it on a more traditional Frappuccino product.

Please click the heart if you enjoyed this for some reason! I don’t know why I’m writing these. But it’s too late now it’s already done publish button!

--

--

Alex Rowe

Commentary about Games, VR, Tech, Music | Former Pro Audio Editor/ Computer Magazine Game Reviewer | Threads: threads.net/@arowe31