Beauty Overwhelming Trauma

Y. Hope Osborn
3 min readAug 13, 2018

--

This is one of those times when the discoveries in trauma with PTSD often overwhelms me. I would sink in a morass of despair, anger, and hurt if I didn’t focus and meditate on something pure and simple, such as, the photography I am practicing this summer. I am concentrating a lot of effort in my garden where I am beautifully overwhelmed instead of traumatically overwhelmed.

One day after it rained, I prepared to do my best, and the rain gave flowers such as this penta flower a sparkle that I might not have seen otherwise. This interesting little flower attracted a hummingbird the other day that I just missed buzzing about the opposite side of the hanging basket.

Of course, not all that sparkles is flowers. This sweet woodruff grows profusely with interesting shaped leaves reminiscent of flowers from another world. It reminds me just now that there are more sides to me than the trauma I experienced.

Speaking of the untypical, I love the vibrant spreading rain-glittered purple of this scaevola. It is a new plant for me to try in my garden this year. I wasn’t initially very enthusiastic about it, but meditation of this image shows me beauty in the unlikely, such as, sides to me resulting from trauma.

Who can doubt that, though we liven in an imperfect, often, depraved world, roses exemplify the wonderful and lovely that remains. Though it is often traumatically stripped of its covering of leaves and flowers during the winter, the rose always stands out for how it overcomes the harshness of its experience in the awesome loveliness of its flora. What’s more, thorns make sure that this beautiful plant is never without its defenses. Underneath that gentle loveliness is a plant that survives, as each of us do if we remember the beautiful in our worlds.

As you travel a harsh landscape, be mindful of the beautiful along the way.

--

--

Y. Hope Osborn

Expressing reality in a ways that captivate, inspire, or inform