Standing Up or Lying Down: A Shravak’s Choice

Young Jain Professionals (YJP)
4 min readSep 24, 2019

By: Saurin Shah

I always viewed Jain laity as a lifelong dilemma: even though shravaks and shravikas are afforded concessions, anyone who attempts to follow Jain teachings will eventually have to confront the decision to persist in or desist from the karmic cycle. Anyone who remains in their worldly life consciously chooses to commit karma: such a choice puts a ceiling on how much they may develop on a spiritual level. However, as my view of the Panch Parameshti expands beyond that of inaccessible deities and their disciples towards that of teachers and role-models, this binary perspective seems quite myopic. These five groups may provide an endless source of knowledge, but their wisdom can travel only as far and as wide as their students, us Jain laypeople, are willing to take it. Therefore, I feel that the metaphysical burden of Jain laity, that of rejecting transcendence and remaining within the material realm, is no burden at all. By choosing this life, I am empowered to take on the responsibility to make the world a better place for all living beings so we can each reach closer to enlightenment.

While the education metaphor isn’t a perfect fit, I feel that our core beliefs explain why each and every Jain has this duty beyond their own development. The Sanskrit phrase Parasparopagraho Jivanam has been associated with Jainism for thousands of years since appearing in the Tattvartha Sutra. It elegantly states that all souls are interconnected and interdependent. Furthermore, it implores us to be cognizant of the effects of our actions and to make them positive. Instead of focusing on how I may never achieve, or even approach, the superlative feats of the Thirthankars, this sutra charges me to seek out opportunities to help others and reflect on how I can do so through my current endeavors.

In my last article [1], I preached the necessity for my career to align with my values, but I realize that complete overlap is unlikely and potentially detrimental. Just because a job doesn’t lie squarely on a path doesn’t mean that it can’t lead to a similar destination. This is where everything I’ve gathered about Jain laypeople making an impact comes together. Since our goal is to seek the betterment of all living beings, we must be present in as many locations, fields, and roles as possible to reach them. I previously railed against the cultural and external forces which pushed Jain-Americans towards a narrow set of careers, some of which may not harmonize with our religious principles. However, a generalized push towards excellence results in high-achieving young Jains occupying significant roles in a much broader set of locations, fields, and roles. Instead of a single person or group struggling to make a splash, it is not a folly to believe we can raise the entire tide. There is no specific way each of us should mobilize our efforts towards this common goal, so I am reluctant to prescribe how exactly we should help others. The emergent properties of an empowered, energetic community like ours ensure that we will not lack for ways to help nor ways we can improve.

The emergent properties of an empowered, energetic community like ours ensure that we will not lack for ways to help nor ways we can improve.

For me, this interpretation of Jain laity has altered my perception of my religious practice from a constant reminder that I am an imperfect being unlikely to reach an exalted state of existence in this lifetime to that of providing bountiful opportunity. I still have the duty, common to all living beings, to minimize karma. However, I also have a special assignment accessible only to laypeople. The Panch Parameshti rely on us to spread their insight through our thoughts, words, and actions. Committing to helping all living beings wherever we are ensures their messages will propagate uncorrupted. I believe this commitment can adapt to technological, social, and cultural changes in the world, so we are not bound to use the same methods as those which existed when the Tirthankars walked the Earth. I don’t mean to blindly support every change in the material world, but I feel that we have the option of pragmatically engaging with new tools and resources. For a shravak, a single-minded pursuit of moksha is doomed to fail. However, we cannot abdicate our responsibility to move in the right direction. We have the unique challenge of making as wide and as positive an impact as possible in everything that we do. I may be a layperson, but I don’t intend to take this duty lying down.

We have the unique challenge of making as wide and as positive an impact as possible in everything that we do.

References:
[1] Shah, Saurin. (June 2019). My Evolving Lens: Finding My Jain Way of Work. YJPerspectives. (2), 12–13.

About the Author: Saurin Shah

Saurin Shah was born and raised in central Illinois where he had a unique experience within a tight-knit Indian community which itself was smack dab in the middle of Normal (that’s the name of the town). Growing up as a third-culture child in this fertile environment exposed him to cultures and ideas from across the subcontinent, in addition to interactions with other Jains. Coming from a science background in high school and college, Saurin seeks to pivot to addressing social and economic issues affecting marginalized communities in the US and beyond. Saurin’s current obsessions are tasting and making unorthodox culinary combinations, building his knowledge of Gujarati with the aid of his family, and practicing his ice skating skills because winter is coming.

--

--

Young Jain Professionals (YJP)

YJP is a non-profit organization connecting young professionals ages 24–42, with a mission to increase awareness and understanding of Jain principles & heritage