Millimeters Away From Success

You are getting in your own way

Risha Yorke
3 min readSep 27, 2023

--

I get the great honor of watching people overcome obstacles to achieve their goals. What never ceases to amaze me is how the smallest adjustments or tiniest tweaks can clear your path to success.

Sometimes it’s a mindset shift. A slightly different perception of how you are forging your path. As illustration, a client of mine had a goal of hitting over $2 million in revenue for the year. When I asked how they were planning to get there, they said “I don’t know, I’m a terrible sales person and I get frustrated with people who don’t see the value in what I do.” We dug deeper, I asked what made them unique in their field. They said, “I’m not really, anyone can do the job as well as I can.” Therein lies the problem. If they cannot see the value they bring, how can their customers?

After a few sessions where we boiled down what set them apart from their competition, it became clear that they were starting to really see the value they were offering. This value began to shine through in their proposals and sales meetings. This small shift in perception changed their business. They hit that $2million revenue goal, in fact they blew it out of the water.

In other cases, it’s a simple adjustment of process, but that can’t happen without the mindset change. People get stuck in their routine, their process, because it’s comfortable. Once they change their mindset, it opens them up to new possibilities in their process, and the smallest change, like moving their alarm clock from 7am to 6:30am begins to have a ripple effect on their life. That 30 mins of self-care time allows them to focus on the days events without feeling like they’ve allowed their needs to go by the wayside. They are less resentful, more productive and have a positive vibe about them. This doesn’t go unnoticed by those around them and they become a magnet for positive things.

Sometimes it’s about knowing who you are. So many of us go barreling through this life with only a surface level understanding about who we are. We don’t know what drives us, what makes us special, what soothes our souls. This can lead to feelings of imposter syndrome, loneliness and anxiety. The truth is, when we stand strong in self-knowledge, sure of our strengths and aware of our challenges, we are armed to be our best selves, full of confidence and ready to make waves. Get deep and get to know yourself.

You must have goals. I’ve been witness to many “go-getters” who have heaps of potential and no follow through. People who seem to run circles around everyone, but ultimately, they are running in circles. A goal creates direction. When we have pent up energy and no where to direct it, we can self-sabotage, we can seem flaky and unfocused. I’ve suffered from a lack of focus in my life. I would excel wherever I put my energy, but would get bored, shift focus, lose interest. It wasn’t until I got VERY strict with my goal setting that my visions became reality.

Don’t quit. You’ll want to. You’ll want to quit all the time. The thing that will differentiate you from everyone else, is that you stayed. You kept going. You were relentless in following the path to your goals, obstacles were overcome, set-backs were handled, the world was not going to stop you from getting there.

The message I really want to convey is, we all have moments where things are too hard, so we want to quit, but the odds are you are only millimeters away from success. Stay the course, change your perspective and get it.

--

--

Risha Yorke

Risha is a business and success coach, TedX Speaker and podcast host of My Super Type A Attempt at Being Zen https://rss.com/podcasts/typeazen/