Find your core values

Daniel Yeomans
3 min readApr 18, 2016

What’s driving you and your everything?

What’s driving me? That’s an tough question.

Weeks back, walking through Nottingham on a pretty lovely day I was listening to a podcast. I don’t recall the episode, but a comment stood out along the lines of “the key to living a meaningful life is to follow your passions and live out your values”.

It really stuck with me and I have thought about that idea much since. I feel like before hearing that, I hadn’t thought much about my values and how I was living them out or obeying them.

How do I live out my values — what are my values? It’s not easy to answer. It’s trying to sum up an entire life in a few words.

By sitting on the thought for a while, I began to feel that my passions are each driven by many values or ideas, and I kept finding common values that were driving those in turn. That is why I like to think in terms of ‘core’ values.

To me something I’m passionate about, like cycling, is a more of a shallower or more conscious expression of a deeper value.When I got myself to pen and paper, I listed some things I really enjoyed and took a look at the similar habits, and thought about what I really liked about those passions or activities. What was under the surface.

Thinking about the deepest reason behind my behaviours and spotting similarities between hobbies is how I came to sum up my core values. When I concluded what they are, I felt that they really made sense.

What are my core values?

There are 3 I’m sure of; I call them Nature, Sustainabillity and Struggle. They sound funny don’t they, but they make sense to me. You might have more, or you may have one; they’re your values so that’s just fine!

Why nature?
I love to cycle. I love to walk. I’d like to walk more, and I want to live on a boat on the canals and rivers. I love the sound of rain on windowsills, and the chill air on my arms as I cycle to work. I like natural sounds. I want to do more photography; landscapes and sleepy english villages, the kind that have struck a compromise with mother nature. A day where I don’t at least spend a few minutes outside is a day entirely wasted. I like nature even when its not at its best, or not uncomfortable to experience.

When I think of everything; it’s clear that a connection to nature is vital for me, it underlines so many things for me; not only what I do but what I feel.

The same is true of sustainability and struggle; in big ways and small ways, visible ways and hidden ways they affect my behaviour and my mood. They

Recap — the process

Want to get a good handle on your core values?
1. List some loves, hobbies or passions and maybe some odd behaviours too!
2. Group them, make connections. Identify underlying drivers or values.
3. Whittle down values until you have decided on some that feel like they are your core values. (I enjoy exercise but only when I’m outdoors, that was one reason that ‘exercise’ didn’t feel like a core value of mine).
4. Enjoy them; they’re yours. And they’re a good way to check if something makes sense for you.

Using your core values?

Use may be the wrong word. I don’t think I’ve used my core values since thinking about what they might be. But they do reinforce what behaviours and ideas are appropriate for me. It’s helped to reaffirm that the easy choices or choosing to spend the day indoors on my computer may not bring me the most satisfaction in the long run; not without some balance added in.

So far knowing about my core values is just another level of awareness of what will make me happier, and feel more fulfilled. And what future plans

The key thing for me, is that everyone’s value are their own. How you describe or relate to them is up to you. If you say one of your core values is ‘making a connection’ no one can tell you it isn’t!

--

--