Today I vote

Yoana Tchoukleva
1 min readMar 3, 2020

--

Shout out to Favianna Rodriguez for her forever true art!

Today I vote
recognizing what a privilege it is to be able to vote
in this country founded on the backs of people
who were denied the right to vote for hundreds of years.

Today I remember
that it’s not a coincidence that election day in my home of California
is National Day of Liberation in my homeland of Bulgaria.
March 3, 1878 — the day my people got free
after fighting for freedom for 500 years…
500 years of Ottoman colonization.

Today I honor
all the people who have fought for freedom
and those who continue to do so,
running for office right now,
resisting gas pipeline corporations,
fighting to close prisons and detention centers.
I love you, thank you, let’s keep going,
The new Earth is calling!

--

--

Yoana Tchoukleva

Civil rights attorney, restorative justice circle keeper, immigrant from Bulgaria, student of ancestral wisdom committed to collective liberation.