How to bypass a 2FA with a HTTP header

Yumi
3 min readApr 26, 2019

--

Hi everyone and welcome back on this new write-up.

Today, I would like to talk about a vulnerability I found on some programs that allowed me to bypass their 2FA protections. On a side note, due to the fact that the programs are private, all the informations about the websites will be redacted. That’s said, let’s start !

Introduction:

As many hunters, when I start my research on a new bug bounty program, I use the application as a lambda user. This allow me to understand how the applications work and notice which features can be interesting to test. I noticed that the applications had a 2FA feature, I enabled it and I started to play with it.

For those who are not familiar with the concept of 2FA (Two-factor authentication), this can be defined by:

Two-factor authentication (2FA) is a way to add additional security to your account. The first “factor” is your usual password that is standard for any account. The second “factor” is a verification code retrieved from an app on a mobile device or computer. (Wikipedia)

Illustration by DoubleOctopus

In a 2FA protection, the verification code is usually an integer between 4 and 6 digits. This mean that the number of combinations for each case is:

  • 4 digits: 10⁴ → 10.000 combinations
  • 6 digits: 10⁶ → 1.000.000 combinations

In both cases, due to the low numbers of combinations, the 2FA code can be brute-forced (especially for 4 digits verification code). With those informations in mind, a 2FA should absolutely have a strong rate limit to not be easily bypassable.

In the case of the applications I tested, they had a rate limit in place to avoid any kind of brute-force attack against the Two-factor authentication feature.

The bypass:

To be efficient, a rate limit need to be well implemented. I started to search if this limit could be bypassed. My first thought was to search on which value the rate limit was based. I tested the following parameters:

  • User email address
  • Session cookies

Strangely, none of this parameter had an impact on the rate limit in place. After few minutes, I remembered a report by corb3nik. He was able to bypass a rate limit on Dashlane bug bounty program with the help of the X-Forwarded-For HTTP header.

According to MDN Web Docs:

I tested to bypass the rate limit a new time by adding a X-Forwarded-For header to the HTTP request and I was surprised by the fact that the applications accepted my request.

With this issue an attacker could brute-force the Two-factor authentication by using the X-Forwarded-For header when his request will be blocked.

Conclusion:

A rate limit is a solid way to increase the security of your web-application. Nevertheless, they need to be well implemented to be efficient. In the case of a Two-factor authentication feature, the rate limit shouldn’t be based on an information that could be manipulated by the user via the HTTP request.

I hope you enjoyed this reading !

Yumi

--

--