Todd Snap: Fashion Icon

yc
4 min readNov 1, 2014

--

Don’t be concerned that you may not know or remember the name Todd Snap. I myself was just reminded of the intrepid wildlife photographer by William Jefferson Zahara.

I never noticed it before but Snap’s fit is understated flameojis through and through. He really nails the high fashion concept of uniform (is it me or is GQ’s buggy and poorly-desgined?) and makes it look easy. I hope you came here looking for a comprehensive breakdown. #leskeddit

Let’s start from the top and work down.

Todd’s coif is silly. If you ain’t talking luxurious chestnut-brown angel tendrils I don’t wanna talk. Also the eyebrows-over-the-bangs move is bold, but he pulls it off with panache while not being too showy about it. I’m a #fadeboy myself but I fuck with his hair’s controlled unruliness. What kind of conditioner does this guy use? Is he on that Prince Akeem juices and berries flow? I could spend all of the next words on this. Boy probably never seen a flake in his life. Men don’t spend enough time on their beauty regimens. Gotta take care of I and I, bredren.

Next, let’s talk about the shirt.

“Your bitch sit it on me like this.”

Horizontal striped crewneck tee. It’s a pretty lowkey choice but he flashes a little personality by choosing rich, vibrant colors. This was a well thought out decision considering the rest of the ensemble is more rugged, more Field and Stream. The shirt is distinctive and memorable, so you associate Todd with this particular tee. Such a move can be crucial to pulling off the uniform concept. And did you notice the slight color variation in the neck? Details bruh, that’s where you win or take an L when it comes to this fashion shit.

The gloves are more utilitarian than anything else, as he tries to keep a firm and steady grip on his equipment #pause, but I like them. I actually own some driving gloves…yeah…just be glad I didn’t get the scorpion jacket too.

This smoldering motherfucker.

The shorts:

Todd skipped leg day because he has no discernible knees. Still didn’t stop him from fucking your bitch.

First choosing shorts is, in itself, a statement. I lean more toward this guy on the topic, but I appreciate that Todd wears shorts because he’s comfortable with his body and mindful of his profession. He needs to be mobile to take all those photos and not get murked by a Rhydon. And I also believe if you’re gonna wear shorts, they should be short. Show some knee. Kennedy did it. AC Slater did it. Todd Snap is joining a rich tradition of knee enthusiasts.

Finally, what some consider the pièce de résistance of #alphetology: the footwear.

Todd got your girl twerking on a handstand for some tasteful photograhs.

The iterations vary as sometimes he goes with white laces and other times, purple. The purple laces are a bit match-matchy. Ideally he’d find some patterned brown ones. Maybe a wheat or even a honey-colored set. But the boot itself is skrong. Kanye is a black timbs devotee (I repurchased a pair earlier this year. They’re ok.) but the rest of the outfit clearly calls for brown boots. Again, it’s a practical but fashionable choice. They look like a cross between Timberlands and these from Quoddy.

The entire look is fire. It’s functional, it accentuates his artist profession, and it just hits all the right notes. Even the ever-present camera/camera bag works. We should all be so lucky to swag like Todd.

--

--