Media Hackday 2018

Andrei Aleksandrov
2 min readMay 29, 2018

--

Our incredible plan

Hi!

Last week I attended one more hackathon: Mediahackday 2018 organized by Axel Springer and its partners. I was there with one of the developers of Smart Mobile Studio Dennis and our friend, Sören.

As a team of three we made the classic hackathon fail: decided to do so many things at once so that there was nothing to show at the end. But during this hackathon I used for the first time JSON Web Tokens (more details in the next article coming soon) and built one more REST server using MARS-Curiosoty.

At the end of hackathon we created a web frontend, REST server, used APIs for retrieval of articles and natural language processing and wrote a small algorithm to rewrite sentences. All this was done to create an intelligent rewriter that translates one article into another with same content, but another form and style.

But we failed at integration and didn’t have enough time to fix that. That’s why we had no demonstration and only an abstract idea.

One more bad idea that I had was to change my presentation style. I thought that it would be cool to be a “serious guy”, but I just can’t be calm while speaking in public and, in a combination with some not so funny jokes, my part of the presentation looked really bad.

But it was really fun and I like to work with Dennis and Sören and learned some new things. Thanks to the team organized this event!

That’s all for today :)

--

--