Fast Anxiety Attack Relief — Right Here

ZeroSpace
4 min readApr 26, 2019

--

Instant Help for Anxiety Sufferers

Last night I had a panic attack so intense that my new medication didn’t help. I could feel my heart pounding right through the sedation. I decided to write a post about effective tools I’ve used for anxiety, all of which I used last night.

Even if you have access to medication and it works, it’s going to take a while to kick in. Sometimes you need help RIGHT THE FUCK NOW. I get it. I’ve been there before, and I was there last night.

Maybe you’re a full-on anxiety sufferer… or maybe you just had too much THC. Either way, the tips below are designed for fast relief.

1. Take a cold shower

Maybe people already know this… but I discovered it for myself last night.

I jumped in a warm bath with some Epsom salt because I could tell my anxiety was kicking up. It didn’t help. Suddenly my throat felt like it was closing, and my upper body was overheating.

I pulled the plug, hopped up, and turned the shower on cold. A little bit of instant relief. Pure instinct. I read somewhere that alternating hot and cold water makes you inhale a big gulp of air automatically (which is what you need) so there’s some science for you.

I was still freaked out, but it did help a little. Every little bit helps when you’re like that. It made the throat-close feeling go away. I toweled off and got dressed. At this point I was still shaking, and in fact, I ran over to the garbage can and vomited.

Glamorous, I know. But it can happen in times like this. So then I did this thing:

2. Listen to this Emergency Anxiety meditation on YouTube:

Meditation for Panic Attacks/Emergency Anxiety Relief

This video is amazing. Something about her voice and the river is highly effective, and it works fast. One thing that sucks about turning to the internet for help during anxiety and panic attacks is that you gotta spend time searching for what you need.

This is a problem because you need something NOW. You need the perfect thing instantly.

Luckily, when I first did a search on YouTube along the lines of, “Stop Anxiety Now”, I found this video quickly. One time I accidently un-liked it and it took forever to find it again. That’s why I’m writing this post. So you don’t have to search around while you feel like you’re having a heart attack.

3. Stay on YouTube and play ambient music designed for anxiety.

I recommend this: Meditation Music for Anxiety & Panic Attacks

It’s literally designed for anxiety and panic attacks. It works like a charm.

This one is a close second: Weightless

Here’s another one: KAYA PROJECT — Drift (Tripswitch Remix)

That song isn’t necessarily designed for anxiety relief, but it sure helps me. I should caution you, however, that around the 3:10 mark the rhythm kicks up, and at 3:43 a strange rapid cycling sound starts happening. Personally, I like that sound and find it soothing, but some people may not like it. It may be too much. So… maybe save this one for last. It’s a kick-ass song in general. You don’t have to be anxious to enjoy that song.

4. Listen to some Jody Whiteley

Here’s Jody Whiteley: Sleep Hypnosis for Anxiety (newest version)

That particular video saved my ass last night. As I mentioned, I was sedated but could still feel my heart pounding. A few minutes into the video she starts talking about melting… a soothing melting sensation, all your trapped energy just melting away. That did it for me.

I can never remember exactly what she talks about, because she quickly puts you into a deep relaxed trance where you’re about to fall asleep. So, the wonderful thing is you’ll never remember exactly what the hell she talked about last night, but it works every time.

Jody’s stuff is designed for sleep, so it may not be as effective when you need something NOW…. but she’s great. Maybe listen to the emergency meditation in #1 first, then transition to Jody Whiteley if it’s bed time.

She has a whole channel and she’s very popular, and with good reason. Her videos are diverse. There are many in each category. She’s the queen of sleep hypnosis owing to her variety combined with her ability to bring the quality.

Some people think her voice is creepy, but those people are outnumbered by the fans who find her “creepiness” soothing. It sounds like she’s running her voice through an effect, and I love it. I listen to the ones designed for anxiety and depression.

Okay, that’s it. I hope someone who needs this finds it.

ZeroSpace

--

--