52 new ways to challenge yourself in 2017

Zheng Li
1 min readJan 12, 2017

--

Oriental Bay Beach, Wellington, NZ

Every year around the first week of January, billions of people make their New Year’s Resolutions, only to have 25% break them by the end of the first week, 50% give up by the end of the first month and only 8% of people actually did what they had set out to achieve at the start of the year.

Personally, my two biggest struggles with New Year’s Resolutions are:

  1. Forming a new habit takes time and consistency (21 days according to Dr. Maxwell Maltz), and who has spare time these days?
  2. Most New Year’s Resolutions are framed in vague/dreary/boring ways that are essentially nice-to-haves but are lacking in excitement.

So, this year I’ve decided to break the habit of forming New Year’s Resolutions by issuing myself a challenge instead:

Do something new each week for all of 2017.

This means I will have 52 new experiences to explore and share with you this year and for that, I can’t wait!

I’d love to hear about any unusual experiences that you think I should try this year (theremin anyone?), just let me know in the comments below :)

Happy New Year and have a great 2017!

Zheng

First week: Going to the ballet

--

--