The Dark Room

A Short Horror Story.

Zulekha Chaka
2 min readJul 1, 2020
Photo by Yogesh Pedamkar on Unsplash

I walk into the dark and desolate room and I feel a wintery chill lingering on the air. I hear nothing but a soft whistle of wind coming from a tiny crack in the window pane. The sour scent of stale lavender arises from a lonely incent stick in the corner and dances all around me. A taste of decomposing flowers abrubtly hits my mouth, as if I’d taken a bite or two of a rotting rose bush.

Suddenly, I see a shadow emerge from the darkness. I stop still, clenching my heart and hoping this is all just a dream... My brain tells my body to run for the door but I am paralysed by fear and can not move an inch. As this gloomy force approaches me assuredly, I hear a whisper by my ear. “The dark is my home come and join me”, it says.

I fall to the floor in sheer shock with tears streaming down my face. But now released from my immobilised state I have a chance to escape! As I hobble to the exit I hear a huge gust of wind rushing behind me. I open the door to quickly jump outside. But just as I do I feel a bitterly cold hand grab my leg. It pulls me back in and the door slams shut. “Time to go now”, the voice murmurs...

Thanks for reading!

--

--

Zulekha Chaka

♡♡•Creative Mind 🦋 Creative Soul•♡♡ Writer of Poems, Scripts and Short Stories