Photography: Mduduzi Mpala

Maybe Today.

Mosa Mahlaba
2 min readApr 28, 2015

The voices in my head are sounding more than usual today. So many noises I cannot even think straight. So many nosies my ears burn.

I don’t have the energy to hold them back so I let them have their way and they fall down my facial. My shaking hand, chipped polish and distinct bite marks, approaches my face then detours to the dome. Thoughts come rushing in. Too many thoughts. So many thoughts I cannot even catch one.

I sit down and unpack them slowly. I lay my problems out on the table alphabetically then, arrange them according to weight. I reach for the solution box but its empty…

With no promise of tomorrow and no trace of yesterday I am trapped in today.

Maybe today

Things will change, I will change

I will find the courage to see, the courage hear and to be me. I will let my imagination take over and let my worries dwindle.I will do it, stop waiting and just do it… fly or dive, take a leap of faith or swim in uncertainty.

Maybe today

I will pray for myself, for peace, for the world.

Maybe today you will stop hiding in the wings and start to shine on the stage that is your life.Maybe today you will step away from the ledge, you wont need a suicide note because my words will bring you some comfort and healing. Maybe you will accept my love-letter.

My thoughts settle and the voices die down one by one. Today doesn’t feel like such a bad day to be in, guess the chaos was just in the heat of the moment…

Maybe today will be the last.

Maybe today will be enough.

Maybe today will be forever.

Words: Mosa Mahlaba

Thank you for reading up to this point. If you enjoyed the piece please click on the Recommend button to share this with others.

--

--