A Conversation with Zio Ziegler

Portia Walp
14 min readApr 9, 2018

As we celebrate 4 years of Silence Is Accurate (SIA), I’ve been reading the interviews I conducted and wrote about the incredible visual artists who were at the beginning of this journey. As they continue to change the world with their works, it’s interesting to look back to what seems a lifetime ago and revisit their projects. My interview with Zio was the first outside of New York City, and one of my favorites. Below is the conversation we had August, 2015 at his studio in Mill Valley, California.

A few days before interviewing Zio, I ran into 2 of his murals while venturing through the Bay Area. Having only experienced his work through print, the web, and an exhibition ages ago, this was an absolute treat. I stood in the middle of each street and spent roughly twenty minutes exploring his technique, my thoughts and feelings.

Thirty minutes after driving away from the interview, I found myself still processing our conversation. Dissecting his words, exploring my thoughts and feelings on the various topics we discussed.

I find it tricky to fully articulate what I think of his art and who I think the artist is, neither are definitive. They both consist of extraordinary intricate, inspiring layers which cause you to pause, think and feel.

Here are snippets of our conversation:

Inside Zio Ziegler’s studio. Mill Valley, CA. August, 2015

--

--

Portia Walp

🦄🌪 I've lived a million different lives in cities, islands, and jungles across continents - each move inspired by a calling to relish the gift of freedom.