The value of good feedback

Yoel Macia
2 min readNov 25, 2019

--

I am currently looking for a job as a junior frontend developer, I have two years experience in the field and I would like to learn more and more about it.

When a job interview arrives I firmly believe that preparation is the key and I spend hours researching about the company, current projects, company culture, etc.

The first time I get in touch with the company, the first filters are passed without any problem and I always get the second interview, which is normally a code test.

When I prepare to do the code test, I spend hours working on the solution even days and send it properly to the future company.

For now, they have sent me an email saying that I have failed in the solution or that they have chosen another candidate with more experience which leads me to keep searching and learning from the code every day.

What I see in these emails is a predefined response and they are not loaded with any kind of feedback to help me improve as a developer. This frustrates me because even if I answer asking openly for feedback, they simply don’t answer about the points I missed or the points I didn’t get to the next round for.

I think this is a severe mistake on the part of companies like takeaway.com because I think they take advantage of being big to treat the candidates like shit and not giving them good feedback.

I’m tired of working on solutions for free to solve their problems and do not explain to me in which points I have failed and why I do not move to the next round, so I openly ask that these companies become aware that behind the typical email we do not hire you, there could be a because, point by point listing the errors by the technical team, because I believe that feedback is important to work in a company throughout the process, whether as a candidate or worker.

That’s why as developers we should demand from companies good feedback or that code tests are paid.

This is a simple thought from a junior developer.

What do you think about it? Give me good feedback!

Thank you very much and keep coding.

I often share more code tips on my Instagram you can say hello to me on my Twitter or see how i code in my Github.

--

--

Yoel Macia

Writing daily about Javascript. Creator of the publication The Javascript Adventure.