3 Features that Make Mem a Standout App

Alec Fox
3 min readMay 25, 2023

Many months ago, I tried a new and popular notes app called Mem. Mem is unique in that it marries personal information management with artificial intelligence. The app has grown and matured over time, and so I decided it’s time to revisit the app to see in its current state, what’s good, what’s bad, and whether I would recommend it.

ℹ️ The Sidebar

One of the features I love the most about Mem is its extremely useful sidebar. I’ve mentioned before how I love to use notes apps that allow for tabs, and while Mem strictly speaking doesn’t, its sidebar more than makes up for this.

The sidebar in Mem, showing related notes.

Mem’s sidebar auto-populates notes you’ve taken with the same tags, or with content similar to what is being written in the current note.

🧠 Artificial Intelligence

Mem uses AI in a lot of different ways, including populating the sidebar. But for subscribers to Mem X, the app also uses AI to assist with search, content writing, and editing.

Smart search allows you to ask questions in the search bar to receive answers in context. For example, by searching “What was our YOY growth in…

--

--

Alec Fox

Sharing my favorite productivity and organization systems that keep my life on track. 🔗 linktr.ee/alecfox