Microsoft’s New Bing: 1 Week Review

Alec Fox
3 min readFeb 23, 2023

For as long as I can recall, Bing has always been that browser you would never use when there’s Google. No offense intended to any Bing users out there, but I’m not in the minority. According to Statista, Google has made up about 84–91% of the global search engine market share since January 2015 (read more here).

That said, two weeks ago Microsoft held a press conference unveiling the new Edge browser, partnered with the new Bing search, powered by OpenAI. This is the first major search engine with powerful AI baked-in. The new Bing search is currently in a closed beta test, but I got access a week ago and have been testing it ever since.

That’s right, I used Bing for a week. For science, and you.

👍 The Good

AI is good, but not revolutionary

Let’s start with what everyone wants to know: Bing search powered by OpenAI. It’s good! I want to get that out in the open straightaway; having an AI-powered search engine is eminently practical.

The functionality of the AI, though, is hardly any different from what one would find on ChatGPT, Notion, Craft, or any other app that has AI built in. I didn’t notice that the AI used in Bing is any smarter or faster than any other AI that I have used.

--

--

Alec Fox

Sharing my favorite productivity and organization systems that keep my life on track. 🔗 linktr.ee/alecfox