Portfolio: UI/UX, Product management, and Instructional Design

I
4 min readNov 7, 2019

--

Hi, I’m an educator, social entrepreneur, and product manager.

I design and manage digital products and educational technology. I love creating user experiences that help people learn and grow. My background in business strategy, UI/UX design, and education has helped me lead agile teams to build products that are aligned with both learning goals and business objectives. I’m always looking for good people, purpose-driven projects, and interesting ideas.

UI/UX Redesign for Mobile Audio Course App

My role: UI/UX research and design (read full summary)

Since coming across an old book recording over a decade ago, I’ve loved learning via audio. For this redesign, I held user interviews, strategized for market differentiation, and had fun creating animations to bring the new designs to life. In this post, I highlight my musings on:

  1. How to differentiate from competitors by positioning the product for a different type of user attention.
  2. How to redesign audio clip sharing for faster organic growth.
  3. How to integrate and animate Show Notes to add value to the user experience.

Read more

Career Education Web App: taking enScholar from Concept to Launch to Growth

My role: Product Manager and Instructional Designer (view full summary)

My co-founders and I started enScholar to bring high-quality career education to those who couldn’t afford it. We designed, developed, and grew our online career tools to reach users in over 40 countries. In this summary post, I dig into the details of how we thought about:

  1. Research and Analysis (Primary and secondary research, ideating with a user persona, competitive analysis and positioning).
  2. Learning Design (Understanding our user, educational objectives, and learning principles).
  3. Digital Design and Development (Creating UI/UX, prototyping, launching).
  4. Measurement and Insights (User testing, results, and next steps towards our second platform, TryIt).

Read more

STEM Learning-Experience Platform: taking TryIt from Concept to Launch to Growth

My role: Product Manager and UI/UX Designer (see video above)

TryIt emerged from speaking with enScholar users who wanted to test out their career hypotheses. I brought together a team of designers, developers, and outreach folks from across 6 countries to launch a new platform that curates the best STEM learning experiences from around the web.

We created a system to crowdsource suggestions for content from students, parents, and teachers. We pulled together more than 5,000 resources—from edX courses, to Khan Academy tutorials, to Crash Course videos—and created a tagging system to link students to progressively higher-engagement activities such as webinars, hackathons, and science competitions.

See video above for more

Redesigning a Social Startup Incubator

My role: Lead Educator and Instructional Designer (view full summary)

I love being surrounded by ideas and people willing to do the work to make them a reality. Groundswell stood out to me as one of the few mission-driven incubators focused on developing the entire founder, not just her business concept. I joined this inspiring team to:

  1. Design and implement a centralized system to connect founders to each other and to resources such as tools, funding opportunities, relevant information, and mentors (online and in-person).
  2. Create and teach a student-centered, action-oriented curriculum focused on finding product-market fit and making tangible progress towards specific, founder-driven goals.
  3. Restructure and facilitate the mentorship program by increasing efficiency and accountability, with the aim of helping founders launch sustainable ventures within six months.

Read more

--

--