I Flew Through Dan Koe’s Book ‘The Art of Focus’… Here’s What I Learned

Nick Pauly
5 min readApr 6, 2024

Online creator Dan Koe has a phrase, “You Have $1000,000 Stuck in Your Head” which he uses to encourage people to become online creators. Specifically, by focusing on what they’ve already done in their lives, and how they might package this life experience into online educational materials.

If you’re more of a literal type, you might be wondering who put all that cash in my skull, and how’d they manage to do it without me noticing? We’ll leave you to ponder that… and the article will still be here once you’ve figured it out :)

Alright class, thanks for letting me kick things off with a bit of poor humor and disturbing imagery. Today’s lesson won’t involve any cranial-coin-slots, however we will cover how “your cranium can create coins”. Hey, I kind of like that 🤔 So now that we understand that the 100k inside your head is metaphorical, let’s unpack what Dan means. I recently read his book ‘The Art of Focus’ which you can get on Amazon here.

Dan asserts that our own personal life experiences (professional, personal, emotion etc) give us a unique vantage point as creators. He then suggests that we solve our own problems by creating tools like journals, checklists, and whatever other mental frameworks we WISH SOMEONE HAD CREATED to make our own personal and professional…

--

--

Nick Pauly

I'm a Paulymath • I write about a wide range of topics from the challenges of running a business, tech, history, futurism, and men's mental health!