Lessons from my (emotionally) needy grandmother

Socialite
2 min readOct 21, 2018

--

My dad’s parents are divorced. Their first marriage produced him and his brother, their second marriages ended in flames, and for both of them, the third marriage was the proverbial charm!

My dad’s stepmom, Grandma Lettie, was a force throughout my childhood. She taught me how to wear lipstick, she told me fascinating stories about her travels abroad, and she took me shopping every year before school started (I vividly remember cringing as she asked the other shoppers how they thought I looked in different outfits).

Grandma Lettie loves to give, and she loves to stay in touch. Last year, when my cousin went too long between phone calls, she posted the following missive on his Facebook wall:

“Karl — it’s been so long since we’ve heard from you! Grandpa is doing well (of course he’s almost completely blind now, but he gets along). I hope you enjoyed the gifts we sent along for your wedding. Give us a call when you get a chance!”

Grandma Lettie has a reputation (and I have a weekly reminder in my phone to give her a call, for fear of Facebook retribution), but I love her. And her memorable way of staying in touch has made her the person I talk on the phone with most often. I’m up to date on my grandparents’ life because she is so aggressive, and I’m honestly thankful for that.

I sometimes worry about looking needy to my friends. I think that if I remind people multiple times about our plans to get together, or double text them, they’ll get annoyed with me. And it’s possible that they will! But that’s okay.

I need to remember to trust that my friends are in my life because they want to be. That rather than looking “needy,” they will hopefully interpret my reaching out as my valuing our friendship (which is what it is!). And that if I want to spend time with someone, I should take the first step and reach out.

Also, remember to call your grandma before she calls you out on Facebook!

--

--

Socialite
0 Followers

Attempting to suffer the mortifying indignity of being known.