An investment in investigative reporting

Ahjané Forbes
3 min readFeb 6, 2022

--

Photo courtesy of Alexis Friedman

Before I started college I wanted to be a print journalist. Now, as a graduate journalism student I still want to be a print journalist. However, writing for a newspaper may not be the same in the next 10 years. I’ve always wanted to write because I like the thrill of telling stories. Even before I could write my grandfather would read me the newspaper and I’d find a way to tell the story differently to my grandmother. Understanding ways to convey a story in order to connect with an audience has always been my dream. Recently, I have been thinking about my future. All I know is that I want to be an investigative reporter. Digging for information makes me feel like a detective. I want to be able to find information the general public does not know. I want to be the person that informs them about something they should know, something they should care about. In April 2021, I published my first investigative piece. This article made me officially decide that I wanted to pursue this as a career.

The University faces an ethical dilemma with a Media Ethics professor

Months prior in Sept. 2020 I got the opportunity to work as a College Associate with Fox Nation on “Crime Stories” with Nancy Grace. My mom made me a true crime junkie at a young age so this was second nature to me. Being able to be a part of the team and helping them find information for the show regarding cold cases, recent cases, documents and finding people on social media made me want to dive into this career even more.

The Fort Hood Investigation was one of the biggest assignments I worked on.

Choosing a medium to work for is the hardest part about being a journalist that has experience in everything. Having experience in broadcast, television, print and social media is good to have until you get the question: what is your dream job? Can I say I want to do it all? The way that social media and journalism is integrating has caused me to want to obtain experience in every medium. As a journalist, you can tell a story on a different platform; you just have to adapt to the way that the platform operates. Journalists are starting to use the social media app Tik-Tok creating videos to tell breaking news stories. I think that is our future and all of us should understand how to do that. For me, I want to be able to be a “one-man band’’ in a sense. I don’t want there to be a time, at least for now, where I don’t know how to do something, especially on social media. By not knowing how to use these social media apps that could potentially cost me a job opportunity. I wouldn’t want that to happen.

My favorite outlets to get news from would be CBS News, The New York Times, NBS News and Telemundo. Most of these outlets are very fast reporting. It’s very helpful thatI get push notifications on my phone. I like NBC articles because if there is an update in the story it usually appears at the top with the time that they updated. That is really useful to the reader so I can know when I’m posting something on social media that it was just recently changed.

Honestly, I am taking this class because Professor Vaccaro recommended it. However I do feel like I need more experience with live treating events. I have done it in the past, but I feel like there’s room for improvement. Also, I want to find out ways I can improve my professional presence on my social media. I started my accounts about four years ago and I know there are some things that can be improved or I can start doing

--

--