Final Brazil Blog: Reflection

Jason Brooks
6 min readJun 14, 2018

--

How close was your experience in Brazil to what you had expected before going on the trip?

There were somethings that my expectations were correct about but not necessarily for the right reasons. For example I got the warmness of the Brazilian people compared to my experience with people in the U.S. . Most every Brazilian I hung out with especially Hugo from Capoeira, Caroline in Curitiba, and Claudio from Mackenzie. They were all so welcoming and happy to help. It may just have been the people I met but generally I felt like most people were just warmer.

I also think there were a lot of similarities between in Brazil and United States but there definitely were some differences. Nothing to extreme but a lot of little things that I picked up on. Appreciation of art, More buffets, Generally the way you payed for things … and so on. However, those are all just general differences not necessarily cultural. The cultural things I can see were a generally more relaxed attitude, less rushing, less stress, and so on. As well as a celebration of sexuality and partying which definitely does not exist in the U.S.. Those are the big ones but it’s odd maybe since I wasn’t speaking Portuguese with people that often it was harder for me to tell the major cultural differences since we were kind of in our own bubble the whole time.

One thing I talked about that I think was disproven or maybe avoided well is a better way to describe it was the crime. We never or at least I never had a time I ever felt really unsafe. There were even protests going on while we were there but it never really felt that dangerous if anything especially in São Paulo and Curitiba it felt like a place I could live. At least form the outside. We did see some of favelas and other areas that may not have been as good but even driving through there it still felt fine. I don’t know if we were just lucky, over prepared, in the right areas, or if it just isn’t as bad as a lot of people think.

Those were my Brazilian expectations going in and I didn’t really touch on my expectations for the academic side of the trip but i’ll mention something I realized in Brazil. I originally assumed Hydro electric power generation was a great source of renewable energy but after Itaipu that changed completely. What an engineering marvel but another one in my opinion of that scale or even half that scale should ever be built. The same goes for nuclear power but the other way. I though nuclear was on the way out and not that great. However after touring Angra that changed too. being able to generate 10% of the power Itaipu can in such a small amount of area with fairly low risk based on how careful they are is incredible to me. The only problem that I could see besides safety is long term storage and if that is figured out then nuclear seems pretty perfect.

Another thing I didn’t really touch on in the first post was my expectations for connecting with the other students on the trip. I was not expecting to have at least one good connection with every person on the trip. I feel like we had such good group of people on the trip. Everyone is so different but we were all there for something we care about and although we all came from different places I feel like I could connect with everyone. Thus I’m looking forward to hanging out with and learning more from everyone when we are back on campus.

Is there one specific experience you had in Brazil that drastically changed your perspective on the country and culture?

The second Capoeira class

When Kyra, Lauren, and I went to Casa Jaya it was one of the most opportune, small world, incredible experiences I’ve ever had. It was our first time doing something outside of the group and I was kind of nervous. I had this idea in my head of being scared of things in Brazil. Was I so wrong, every single person we met that night was so happy to share what they were doing with us as well as teach us. In the Capoeira class we were the newbies that everyone tried to help even though they didn’t know us at all. Then we got a tour of the restaurant by one of the people trying to make in zero waste. How did we stumble across a restaurant trying to heat water using compost. I still don’t understand it and then he showed us all aspects of what they are trying to do. Afterwards eating dinner with Hugo and him and just relaxing, talking, and laughing just felt so natural and good. Then we got to the part that made me nervous Hugo driving us back to the hostel. I felt super defensive that he was going to try and do something bad to us but it was just a really nice drive and chat back to the hostel where he then took us to a club it was perfect.

I learned about Brazilian culture from them, as well as they broke through my defensiveness and made me ready to meet more Brazilian people and learn more about Brazil!

How hard was it to deal with the language barrier in Brazil?

In some ways very challenging in others not bad at all. When we were with Jen, Renato, or Courtney it was super easy to get by because If I didn’t know anything they could fill in the blanks. As well as if it was just ordering food I could handle that on my own. However once it got to something slightly more complicated. It was so hard. My Spanish helped a little bit but there were sometimes I felt so lost.

I remember trying to order açaí once and just not being able to do it. I was confused by the menu and the person working there and I just couldn’t get anything across to one another.

That was the time where I felt most like the blundering dumb American. However generally I don’t think it was so bad. However, if I could go back and do it again Portuguese would be at the top of my list of things to improve.

In what ways did you immerse yourself in the Brazilian culture?

Second Capoeira class, hanging out with Caroline. Generally if there was an opportunity to hangout with actual Brazilians I tried to take it. To get out of our bubble. That felt like the most immersion I could get.

Tried to eat all of the staples in Brazilian cuisine: feijoada, pão do queijo, sagu, doce de leite, and others.

Tried to speak Portuguese when I could. Learned some basics not as much as I would’ve liked though.

Tried to ask questions about Brazilian culture to Renato and others.

Those are the big ones and I’d say I was fairly successful. Always could improve but felt like I did fairly well.

If you could go back and do something differently during the trip what would it be?

Portuguese. It was frustrating when leaving our bubble and feeling lost. I think the experience would have been better if my Portuguese was better. Something to improve on for my trip to Japan. Now I know that its something that’s important to me.

Gone to Coffee Lab more!

Extras

Another thing I didn’t write about but sort of found while there is I think being able to have an odd schedule or do something like this trip often would be incredibly cool. I know it’s a lot of work for Courtney but being able to go to Brazil for a month once a year and share her passions with everyone seems like such a great job and opportunity. Not sure if I’ll be able to find that but something I definitely learned.

--

--