The miserable normal life: how they are forcing us to miss opportunities

Ali Tavallaie
3 min readSep 4, 2019

--

Imaging young boy who has the first invention in age 12, first conference paper at 13, and his first journal paper at 17. The young boy knows for his creativity and also has some ideas to make new things.
This young boy is me and now I’m 26, but I used to be a normal programmer and get paid for his codes and it will be a long story.

Hackaton after match 2018

But the true story was started a few months ago. I received an e-mail from Marta. She works in MakeInLA accelerator and offers me to join them for their investment cycle. I explained to her I am from Iran and it’s impossible for me to join them. But she said who knows future, just apply for them. It lit the light of hope in my heart. I work on some idea again and I think maybe it changes my life. I have an idea about some IoT device with a taste of AI. While I about the idea, I received another mail from hackzurich, the largest hackaton in Europe, to apply for the next event, also they said they will cover some expenses too. Oh my God, maybe nature shows me the true nature of itself. I hadn’t too much confidence in myself, but I applied for hackzurich. It was great that I choose from 5000 application, I was daydreaming about hackaton the great opportunity to show what I capable of. It was awesome until now, but hope and happiness didn’t long enough, Switzerland reject my visa application, they were not certain I am going back after the event and I will be a refugee in their country. I mailed them, I explain this life-changer moment in my life and ask for their help, not only them but all the people I know. even I Tweet it.

But I only received one answer if you have any objections I should pay near 200 frank of swiss. It was a huge cost that I can pay for it because it is almost equal to my two months of salary. I ask hackathon for their help but they can’t pay such amount of money for each applicant.
I think to start a crowdfunding campaign, always there are persons to help others, but it requires a visa or PayPal Account. however, Due to the sanction over Iran, I can’t have one. Also, I haven’t enough time to start a campaign for objection cost
So there isn’t any other choice. I am giving up to be participating in hackzurich( 25–27 September 2019). As a helpless guy who hasn’t any hope what I could, it was writing my story to tell the world because of their politicians, I did what I could do but I forced to miss the opportunity. If you have any idea what I could do, I feel happy to hear from you. Until then I am going to back to my ordinary miserable life as a boring programmer.
May the force be with you,
A.

--

--