CS371p Fall 2022: Alejandro Cisneros

Alejandro Cisneros
2 min readOct 10, 2022

--

What did you do this past week?

This past week, I finished up the Voting project but spent most of my time completing a group project for my game tech class. Because the nature of the project was so interesting though (literally making a video game for a class with a team), it didn’t feel as tedious as some projects for other classes have for me.

What’s in your way?

Again, time. I feel it’s difficult juggling everything right now. It’s the height of recruiting season, and all my classes are CS or science classes this semester. Between it all, I need to find time to cook for myself, get groceries, clean, and all the basic necessities of living. It’s tough.

What will you do next week?

I plan to get started on project 3 as soon as possible hopefully, but I have milestone due for another project for another class. I will also review the notes on vectors, as I had to miss class the day they were presented due to a migraine. I was hoping I could watch the lecture on lecture online, but I find the system is really finicky. Sometimes it doesn’t record audio, sometimes it doesn’t record video, and this time, it didn’t record audio. :/

What did you think of Paper #7: The Liskov Substitution Principle?

It was an interesting read. I have encountered the problem described myself before and wondered if there was any techniques that could be used for a better design. I felt the idea of only utilizing an ISA relationship if public behavior/expectations are the same for two classes made things a lot more concrete.

What was your experience of std::array() and std::vector? (this question will vary, week to week)

During class, it made sense, but honestly as I’m writing this, I’m having a hard time remembering exactly what we talked about. I’ll need to go back and review.

What made you happy this week?

Not gonna lie, it was a pretty tough week mentally. At least my shoulders seem to be healthier, and I’ve gotten to train my upper body in the way I’ve wanted to for months.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

I just recently learned a bit more about sockets, which is defined by Wikipedia as “software structure within a network node of a computer network that serves as an endpoint for sending and receiving data across the network.” Really though, what’s helped me reason about it more, is that a socket is just a file descriptor. The only functional difference between a regular file descriptor and a socket is that data for a socket is received from or sent across a network.

--

--