FOUR BLACK SQUARES

Aakanksha Agnihotri
5 min readSep 9, 2017

--

INTRODUCTION

The design challenge I perform to develop experience with the design process is the four squares problem. The challenge was to arrange 4 squares in 24 different ways to convey emotions.

In this challenge, I emphasised on the concept of: Order, Chaos and Tension. The key elements of the design process that I experienced is the problem formulation, ideation, selection and construction. For the four-square problem, firstly I proposed eight different designs that address the concept of ‘order’. After I constructed my solutions using the four black squares, I go back on my designs and select one arrangement that I considered my best. After this, I moved on to other two concepts, ‘chaos’ and ‘tension’ and repeated the same design process all over again.

DESIGN PROCESS

At first, when I sat with my paper and pencil I was blank thinking of what are the possible arrangements to form order tension and chaos with just four squares then I thought the best way to proceed is to just start; pick up the paper pencil and start drawing without giving a thought. I begin with the basic interpretation of a squares a symmetrical squares in a vertical line form. This could also be a diamond, so I need to make sure that adjacent sides of my squares are perpendicular to each other.

ORDER

I decided to start with ‘order’ because the concept was basic and uncomplicated. I started arranging the four squares which forms the sequence, pattern or context.

Best arrangement for order according to me:

Reason- I think the arrangement shown above is the best as it depicts four squares arranged in a straight vertical line. The empty spaces between the squares is equal. It fits into a symmetrical pattern. The arrangement looks organized, symmetrical and orderly.

CHAOS

The next I created was ‘chaos’. Chaos could be slight absence of order, confusion, overlapping or putting squares randomly.

Best arrangement for chaos according to me:

Reason- I arranged the four squares in an anticlockwise order and simply rotated the fourth square which forms diamond and changed the size of the square out of the order. So, I think the smallest lack of order in a process can lead to the complete collapse of the system. The size of disorder isn’t as impactful as the mere presence which is least expected. Similarly, when a persons life settles down and things works out for them. But week after week, month after month, year after year, there might be different players, different facts which is sometimes least expected and leads to chaos in a human’s life.

TENSION

The final design prompt to the four squares problem is ‘tension’. Tension would remind me of an object such as being stretched, increase& decrease, imbalanced.

Best arrangement for tension according to me:

Reason- In my opinion, I think the above picture depicts the best arrangement. It appears that the four squares resemble the seven-stone game which pile one on top of the other stone and the size of the stone increases as they go up I would avoid piling a large object on a smaller one since it creates a panic because of the structure which could fall. The squares as arranged above can be said to be in tension because the slightest abrupt force can collapse the structure. Similarly, in case of human under tension even the smallest of stimuli can have adverse impacts on their mind.

REFLECTION

This challenge aimed at learning the aspects of a design process.

In the four-square problem, I designed the solution for each prompt eight times. I achieved some decent results in each activity, but there is a room for improvement. Maybe if I tried a few more times, without any constraints like-

  • Use only black square;
  • Not more than 4 squares.
  • Should be a perfect square.
  • Should be presented on a square Art board.
  • There was a fixed set of concepts

Then, I might be able to evoke the truest forms of order, chaos and tension with my designs.

--

--