Going the Extra Mile: A Journey of Internship Seeking and Learning

Aalishan Ayub
2 min readMay 24, 2024

--

In Lahore, a bustling city teeming with career prospects, I embarked on a journey to explore internship opportunities at prominent firms like A.F Ferguson & Co (A member firm of PwC Network), BDO, and Yousaf Adil. Each visit provided unique experiences and valuable lessons.

First I was shortlisted for the A.F Ferguson Aptitude test and was called for my first manager interview. I was somehow nervous also because it’s ranked the # 1 Audit & Accountancy firm in the world but still I managed to control my nerves during the interview and it was a good experience overall. I took my cover letter and resume along with me.

BDO presented a different scenario. Despite my preparation and enthusiasm, I found myself waiting at the reception without the opportunity to engage directly with the company representatives. This experience emphasized the unpredictability of the internship-seeking process and the necessity of resilience in the face of uncertainty.

Yousaf Adil, on the other hand, offered a blend of challenges and opportunities. While navigating the reception area, I encountered various professionals bustling about their day. Although I faced initial setbacks in gaining access to the decision-makers, I persisted with determination, recognizing that every encounter is an opportunity for growth.

Through these experiences, I learned that success in the internship search journey requires a combination of preparation, adaptability, and perseverance. Each interaction, whether fruitful or challenging, provided invaluable insights into the complications of the professional world. By embracing the journey with an open mind and a resilient spirit, I discovered that every experience contributes to personal and professional growth.

--

--