Security And Human Body Analogy

Aashish Sharma
2 min readAug 14, 2020

--

#Workfromhome has its own challenges be it setting up your own mini work table to answering your family questions about your work and other numbers of tangential questions to it.

For me, the question was from a 6-year-old cousin in a sweet voice “ Brother what you do sitting in front of the computer for 9 hours? “ Well everyone would agree it is easier to explain something to an adult and it is equally difficult to explain to a kid/teen, who won’t stop asking questions till he/she understood. I took the proven and trusted path to explain him with the help of an analogy.

I equated the company/organization to the human body and the organs to the assets(computers, servers, etc.). Explained to him as organs are required to keep the human body running in the same way assets are required for the company/organization to keep running. Then explained as sometimes this organs need a regular health check-up by the Doctors in the same way the assets need regular monitoring and #HawkEye view on assets health by the #CyberSecurityAnalyst who looks for the viruses and malware in the company assets similar to as doctors look for disease or infection in the human body.

Well, I was happy that this explanation escaped me from further questions of my cousin as he understood the crux of my job profile in one shot. I encouraged you guys to write in the comments which other jobs or entity symbolizes your job profile.

#cybersecurity #job #workfromhome #itsecurity

--

--