Meet Our New Capacity Building Director

--

Amy Horn, February 2024

Hey everyone, My name is Amy Horn and I’m the new Capacity Building Director with AAPI FORCE-EF. Working to strengthen our network’s capacity in running effective fields and organizing campaigns through training and curriculum development. What brought me here is my passion for Electoral Justice work because I believe those who are directly impacted by the conditions of the communities are the ones who are best to help shape the quality and needs.

Growing up as the daughter of Cambodian refugees, my family was impacted by the racist laws and policy of the 80s here in CA which led to food and housing disparities, bands of cultural representations, immigration rights and criminalizing our communities for petty crimes which for many Cambodian and people of color led to deportation causing compounded trauma.

As a young person facing these challenges, I joined a community organization called Khmer Girls in Action whose mission is to build a progressive and sustainable Long Beach community that works for racial, gender, and economic justice led by Southeast Asian women and youth.

My experience learning about my history and root causes of my community’s barriers and challenges lead me to leading voter engagement field campaigns to educate, empower and mobilize voters to participate in local policy campaigns and election participation.

We must continue to participate and engage our communities in the political process because we are more powerful than corporations. Who are inserting themselves in the election and continuing to profit off of our communities back and taking from our pockets.

As someone who is a product of community organizing investment, I believe that it is so important to make space for our communities to have where they can learn more about the current political landscape and how they can participate in helping to shape progressive policy and changes in their communities.

It is our right to democracy, to show up in numbers and let corporations know we will not be silent and we are here. I’m excited to educate, empower and mobilize voters on a statewide level with AAPI FORCE-EF.

--

--

AAPIs for Civic Empowerment Education Fund

A statewide network that builds progressive AAPI governing power in CA through campaign organizing, policy advocacy, IVE, and narrative change.