David Goggins, The Toughest Man Alive

Aarav Bansal
2 min readSep 18, 2023

--

David Goggins has been a key inspiration to me because of the fact that inspite of having an unpleasant childhood, he did not give up on his dream of becoming a US Navy SEAL. So much so that not only did he become a US Navy SEAL, but he also earned the title of the “toughest man alive”. This exhilarating life story of his has touched me deeply and made me energized. In one of his motivational speeches that I really admire, he says that “If your mind is controlling you rather than you controlling your mind, then you’re making the biggest mistake of your life.” Let me explain how this quote transformed my work style over the years: I started out as being energetic and optimistic like many of the kids of my age, but the COVID-19 pandemic suppressed this positive energy of mine completely. Thanks to this pandemic, I lost the curiosity and desire to do things that once engaged me actively. I became the exact opposite of the popular phrase “Actions speak more than words,” as I began gradually inclining towards “Words speak more than actions.” However, exploring the challenging life of David Goggins ignited the spark within me to change my perspective of life. Firstly, he motivated me to face and accept all sorts of challenges coming my way without becoming overwhelmed or frustrated by the inconvenience caused by them. It also taught me a lesson in self-confidence and believing in myself without having to overthink any challenge too much or too less. After putting all these changes in effect in my work routine, I still believe I have only come half the way in overcoming my weaknesses and thus there is still a lot of progress to be made in the future. As life progresses with each passing year, I wish to be consistent by working on the changes I set for myself at the beginning of every year to make myself a better reflection of my older version. I also wish to inculcate a habit of adaptability as I believe that when life moves on and brings on new challenges, one should learn to adapt to the new trends in his lifestyle in order to solve these challenges more effectively.

References: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TLKxdTmk-zc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PzeC2VP24vM

--

--