Medium Supports alt Text (Mostly)

Adrian Roselli
1 min readJul 18, 2019

--

But I never trust anything until I try it myself, even though I trust the guy who twaught it.

A screen shot of Scott’s tweet saying Medium supports alt text.

And lo, it did offer me an option to enter alt text immediately following the options for image alignment. Granted, if I added none then there would be no alt attribute at all (oops).

I now implore all article authors, especially articles about accessibility that I tracked in my tweet thread, to go back and add alt text. Especially if you want to be taken seriously about accessibility.

Also, stop posting your content to Medium.

Thank you, Medium, for adding the most basic feature of web accessibility that we have literally asked for for years, and for not notifying those of us with open issues when you did. Bravo to you.

--

--