CS371g Summer 2020: Aaron Altmejd

Aaron Altmejd
2 min readJul 20, 2020

--

What did you do this past week?

I finished up the Deque project with my partner and wrote a few acceptance tests that got submitted. I’m hoping I didn’t make them too difficult, since one of them exposed a pretty nasty bug for us regarding deques that have a lot of elements pushed both onto the front and back. I also partnered up for the next project, although we have not yet started coding for that one.

What’s in your way?

Not much at this point.

What will you do next week?

I will work on the next project with my partner and hopefully finish it in a reasonable amount of time since I have heard a lot of other people in the class saying that this project was a decently easy one.

What was your experience of stack, back_insert_iterator, and graph?

I didn’t find these concepts too difficult to understand, especially since I’ve had to work with graphs for a few other classes.

How are you doing and holding up? What’s been most helpful for you in terms of support at this time?

I’m doing alright. I’m going through a little bit of turmoil in my online friend group and am trying to give one of my friends a little space in an effort to try to improve the health of our relationship. It’s been a little difficult for me since I can be a fairly clingy person, but I think the space has been good for both of us. My other friends have been a big help in keeping me out of a bad head-space during all this.

What made you happy this week?

I’ve been excited to try some new recipes now that I’ve done a big grocery run. I’m trying to make a fermented soda like drink called ginger beer which can basically be described as ginger ale but spicier. It’s (mostly) non-alcoholic despite having beer in the name. I’m also looking forward to trying other fermented drinks in the future, maybe from other parts of the world like Tepache.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

gdb has a feature which lets you run the execution of your code in reverse. Figuring out how to get that to work has made debugging certain parts of my code a lot easier since you can run your code up until it segfaults and then reverse execution while tracing back the source of the bad address you tried to dereference.

--

--