3 Things I’ve Learned from 3 Weeks of Writing on Medium

Aaron An
3 min readJun 13, 2022

--

I Didn’t Know Writing Could Be So Enjoyable

Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

It has been just over three weeks since I posted my first article on Medium, and I wanted to share three things that I have learned.

1. Writing Can Be Enjoyable

Until three weeks ago, writing has almost always been associated with a mandatory school assignment.

I had to write poems, book reviews, research papers, and essays to pass the class and move forward in my education. I wrote because I had to and usually found the process quite miserable.

On Medium, I have the freedom to write about the things that interest me — investing, productivity, personal growth, failures, habits, etc.

Consequently, I have often found myself looking forward to writing, even waking up extra early before work to get 30 minutes or more of writing in.

2. The Community on Medium Is Overwhelmingly Welcoming

I have been pleasantly surprised by the general disposition of Medium writers to be gracious, polite, and supportive.

Don’t hear me saying that the community esteems mediocre or low-quality writing. Quality and content certainly do matter.

What I am saying is that if something you wrote was helpful, creative, insightful, or valuable in some way, the writers on this platform will affirm you via claps, highlights, and comments.

There is no judgment for having only a few followers. I found myself thinking on multiple occasions, “Wow, this person with thousands of followers took the time to read my article?”

Special shout out to Diana Meresc, Maria Kim, Nour Boustani for showing me lots of support early on!

3. Reading Other Writers Helps Me Improve as a Writer

While Medium welcomes newbie writers like myself with open arms, there is an abundance of very gifted writers on this platform.

I typically try to read at least a few articles and stories each day (your lunch break can be the perfect time to do this). Over my first few weeks on Medium, I have gained a better understanding of what kinds of titles intrigue a reader to click, and how to write to keep the reader’s attention while providing genuine value.

It has been inspiring to see the product of writers who have been refining their craft over hundreds of articles.

It would not be an overstatement to say that the way seasoned writers arrange words together to teach, motivate, evoke emotions, encourage, and entertain their readers is a work of art.

Their excellence makes me want to press on in my journey to grow as a writer and provide valuable content to each person who reads my writings.

Thanks for reading! If you don’t have a membership yet, please consider signing up through my link below. It only costs $5 per month and gives you access to as many articles you want to read on Medium. I receive a small cut from Medium which I can use to almost pay for a small coffee!

--

--

Aaron An

New Yorker in Kentucky. Passionate about handwritten letters, thin crust pizzas, and Saturday morning errands. Writing about personal growth in all areas.