Can anyone learn to code? Maybe, but not everyone should.

How repeated failures exposed my misaligned motivations

Aaron An
3 min readMay 22, 2022
Photo by Gabriel Heinzer on Unsplash

Programmers (or software engineers, developers, etc.) are highly sought after by companies and are handsomely compensated for their skills. And it makes sense. The incredible technologies available today, from ordering a TV from our phones to self-driving cars, have been made possible by the superpower-like work of programmers.

I am not a programmer. The most success I’ve had writing code was in an introductory class I took in high school (I think I received a 88%). As a way to challenge myself, I signed up for an Intro to C++ class in college and “passed” with a D. I struggled to grasp the concepts and gave up quickly once the class material felt too difficult.

In recent years, learning to code online has been all the craze. Like millions of others, I signed up for both free and paid memberships on platforms like FreeCodeCamp and Codecademy. I eased through the initial batch of lessons with plenty of handholding, but after just a few weeks of not devoting time consistently to learning, I would forget most of what I’d learned.

This occurred several times over the years. I would see a video on YouTube, get excited about learning to code, sign up on a platform, tell myself that I wouldn’t quit, then get stuck on a difficult lesson and quit.

As I look back on those attempts, I’m a bit embarrassed to admit that the only reason I pursued learning how to code was for the potential of making a lot of money. Now, there’s nothing wrong with a high salary or with being compensated for your valuable skills. However, when money is the sole motivation, there’s a problem. For the most part, I didn’t enjoy coding and the thought of staring at code on dual monitors for 40+ hours a week seemed miserable. It’s possible that with determination, a good mentor, and countless hours of studying I could have found my way to an entry level programming role. But would that have been a good thing?

I’m currently working at my 5th job out of college and am still unsure of what I want to pursue as a career. Data analytics? Entrepreneurship? I have absolutely no clue. I do know, though, that I won’t be pursuing the lucrative world of programming. And that’s okay.

Thanks for reading! If you don’t have a membership yet, please consider signing up through my link below. It only costs $5 per month and gives you access to as many articles you want to read on Medium. I receive a small cut from Medium which I can use to almost pay for a small coffee!

--

--

Aaron An

New Yorker in Kentucky. Passionate about handwritten letters, thin crust pizzas, and Saturday morning errands. Writing about personal growth in all areas.