5 Union Jack flags

and drunken realisation  

Aaron G
3 min readMay 21, 2014

The Rich list recently came out, with London home to the most number of billionaires in the world. As well as doing business in London rich foreigners have taken a huge step towards making London their home. Having lived in London all my life it’s hard to really appreciate my surroundings as it’s all I’ve ever known, I can’t just say that London is an amazing city like everyone else does as I really need to feel it (or appreciate it). So I often wonder why do so many tourists flock here? Why do the rich choose London as the place to be? Why is it amazing?
Is it the multiculturalism?, the rich history?, the influence of arts & culture? Being a fashion capital of the world? Its probably a mixture of these reasons and many more.
A day after the rich list came out I was reading (Stoicism: The Art of Happiness) while on the tube. There was a section focused on ‘being present’, why dwell on the past if you can’t change it? Why think so much about the future when it is yet to be lived? ‘Live in the present like you’re seeing everything for the first time’.
It didn’t really sink in as I’ve heard of it before.

I was on my way to watch the London Symphony Orchestra at the BMW LSO Open Air Classics, right in the middle of Trafalgar Square. I had attended the year before and it was brilliant so I couldn’t pass on the opportunity. I got there half hour before the show started and the place was already packed out. Looking around at all the people, you had a mixture of ethnicities both young and old all there for the magnificent music that’s stood the test of time, mixed in with the sounds of London’s hustle & bustle.
During the performance, I couldn't help noticing these 5 union jack flags being blown by the wind at the top of a building across the road, to the right a full moon appearing in the light blue sky while the sun sets behind me. Having visited Trafalgar square many times before, I begun to see things a bit differently this time, looking around at these tall buildings, I started to notice the architecture and its detail, its significance (and the amazing view id have from such balcony). As I focused my attention back to the stage I could see a number of beautiful buildings in the distance, almost as if it was strategically placed behind the stage like a perfect prop. As the music continued to play (while getting slightly tipsy with some cheeky cider) I realised at that moment I was ‘present’ not thinking about the past or future but right now appreciating the beautiful music, the historic surroundings and literally enjoying each passing moment.
It took an orchestra for me to realise ‘WOW, this moment captures everything great about London and I love that I’m a part of this, I love that I’ve live here’.
I guess after 25 years I had my moment and can say London really is amazing, I’ve experience it (or finally truly appreciated it).

--

--

Aaron G

Weight Management and Lifestyle advisor. Aspiring [watch this space] & Coffee enthusiast. Follow me @Aaron1G