How To Be More Productive, Stop Thinking About Yourself

Tips on accessing flow state

Aaron Masse
2 min readJun 11, 2024
By Nirmal Rajendharkumar On Unsplash

The inspiration from this is from a statement I heard Dr Orion Taraban say. I’ll put the full podcast at the end of this paragraph. To get into a flow state, you need to stop thinking about yourself.

Alcohol’s connection with flow state

Before we start talking about flow state I want to talk about a subconscious trick many humans have done that got them into flow state. We all understand that alcohol makes us more extroverted and expressive during social events. Hence why most people drink. It reduces social anxiety and makes the event more fun.

Social Anxiety

In high school, I was an extrovert with social anxiety. I wanted to talk with people all the time, but I was always full of fear. Funny enough, alcohol does happen to solve that exact problem. Thankfully I didn’t indulge too much in that.

When you have social anxiety you are exclusively thinking about yourself.

Should I stand like this? Where do I put my hands? Should I speak now? Where do I look?

What’s the connection?

You cannot be in a flow state when you are caught up in yourself.

Social anxiety causes you to think about yourself, alcohol helps you not think about yourself, then you have the freedom to have fun. You get into a flow state.

The end

My conclusion is if you stop thinking about yourself, the flow state is much easier to access. And flow state helps you be more productive. Unfortunately, I don’t currently have a detailed guide on how to access the flow state. I’ve been in it before. I’d use discipline to start a task while listening to music with no lyrics. That gives me a chance to access it.

Sorry if this guide didn’t give all the answers you were looking for, but I hope it helped a little bit.

✨✨✨ Please make sure to ✨ ✨✨

👏Give 50 claps 👏

📖 Stay on the page for at least 30 seconds 📖

💬Comment your reflection of the article 💬

My writing is completely supported by readers like you

--

--

Aaron Masse

I want to speed up your self-discovery process through my writing. Newsletter: ⬇️⬇️ https://selfexamination.substack.com/