5 (More) Stupid Things Entrepreneurs Should Never Say When Fundraising

Aaron Dinin, PhD
The Startup
Published in
7 min readJul 14, 2020

--

After publishing my last article called 5 Stupid Things Entrepreneurs Should Never Say When Fundraising, someone tweeted:

“Wow, @AaronDinin! You’ve only said 5 stupid things while fundraising? I’ve got you beat by about a million!”

If only that were true. Instead, I could spend the next year writing articles about the stupid things I’ve said while fundraising. And after that, I could probably spend another year writing articles about all the stupid things I wrote in those articles. But that would get boring.

However, a few more examples won’t hurt anything (except maybe my pride). So here you go… five more examples of stupid things entrepreneurs should never say when fundraising that I’ve personally said multiple times.

Stupid Statement #1

“If we capture X% of the market…”

Why you said it:

You just showed how enormous your target market was. You probably did so with a slide describing your Total Addressable Market (TAM) worth many billions of dollars or possibly…

--

--

Aaron Dinin, PhD
The Startup

I teach entrepreneurship at Duke. Software Engineer. PhD in English. I write about the mistakes entrepreneurs make since I’ve made plenty. More @ aarondinin.com