180 Websites in 180 Days: Days 52,53, & 54

Aaron Massey
2 min readSep 10, 2017

--

Check out today’s projects, and the rest of this challenge’s projects here!

I’m slowly but surely I’m catching up to where I need to be!

For Day 52 I did a Hex/Rgb Converter (Hex to Rgb & Rgb to Hex). Got this idea because I always need to switch up my hex values to rgb when I want to add in some opacity so I thought why not a make the site myself to do it!

For Day 53 I did a game of Minesweeper. I originally started off doing this page in React as a warm up to Free Code Camp’s “Game of Life” project. After taking a sneak peak at their sample project’s code I noticed it was 5% React (literally, I did the math) even though it was listed as a React project. I searched a tutorial on how to build it using Canvas and discovered The Coding Train. Really appreciated his video and learned a lot from it! He built it using p5js, which I’ve never even heard of, but I can say it makes using Canvas easier for me. I added in a few things after in addition to his tutorial but I can’t wait until I have time to go back and make it even better!

Day 54’s project was something I wanted to do since the very beginning of this 180 challenge, a “Make it Rain” simulation. Luckily The Coding Train had a tutorial on how to do this! It was really simple and I’m starting to feel like I’m getting Canvas a little bit more. His project was purple rain and I wanted to do mine as gold rain. Gold rain made me think of golden showers so that definitely wasn’t happening so I switched it to black rain with a gold background in honor of the Saints!

If you haven’t noticed, I did a redesign of my portfolio page! I got the template from Start Bootstrap. I liked it because it was so similar to my original design but the UX of the portfolio section was better. Also it had a working contact section.

Be sure to drop by my page and send me a message. I’ll be taking phone number off of the contact form in a couple days. If you send me a message, use a fake number!

--

--

Aaron Massey

Stackin' things fully. Currently knocking out 100 algorithms. Check me out https://github.com/aaronmassey45