Netxms- Network monitoring

Arun Pv
1 min readJun 30, 2022

--

An increase in the number of network switches in the lab with lots of chopping and changing happening with cabling and connectivity, it became hard to trace cabling and keep speed with documenting those changes.

My search for a monitoring tool that could automate a lot of my routine work became priority. I happened to come across netxms in my search and was happy with the customizations it had to offer.

With my limited experience in coding and understanding scripts, I had a steep learning curve to set it up and get it working for my needs. I felt a sense of accomplishment when I was able to set it up and managed to track devices on the network to the switchport. I was joyed to share it with my team and gave them a demo on how to use it for finding devices and connections on the network.

Though the application has a lot more to offer, I am still figuring it out.

--

--