Book Review: It’s All Love by Jenna Ortega

Ariel Abad Figueroa
6 min readJan 11, 2021

This is the first time I have written a book review and I’m happy it is for It’s All Love by the young Latina actress Jenna Ortega. I’m a huge fan and I really admire her a lot. If it were not for her, I would not be the person I’m now, and for that I’m very grateful. Before starting the review, let’s talk a little about this beautiful human being.

There is a lot to say about Jenna Marie Ortega. She was born in September 27, 2002 in Coachella Valley, California. Her mother is of Mexican and Puerto Rican ancestry, while her father is of Mexican American descent. Jenna Ortega is well known for her role as Young Jane on Jane the Virgin (a romantic comedy drama series that I really LOVE). Also, for her leading role as Harley Diaz on the Disney Channel series Stuck in the Middle. Furthermore, Jenna has worked on many projects such as Elena of Avalor, Saving Flora, You, The Babysitter: Killer Queen, Jurassic World Camp Cretaceous, among others. And that’s only in the film industry, because I assure you that Jenna Ortega is much more than a great actress.

“We’re all more alike than most of us realize.”

I never would have guessed that Jenna would be so right about this. I didn’t think I could relate to Jenna so much, and I’m not saying this just because of her bad experiences, but because of her way of thinking. I’m a seventeen years old boy from Ecuador (I’m the same age Jenna was when she wrote the book) and for obvious reasons our lives are so different. Despite that, we can always learn something when we begin to see with different eyes. That’s what It’s All Love allows us to do.

For those who don’t know what It’s All Love is about, it is a book with Jenna’s original quotes and affirmations, which are accompanied by reflections and personal experiences of the actress. In other words, this book is a look inside Jenna’s soul. I would love to say that the book is incredibly amazing, but Jenna mentions that you need the truth to learn from your mistakes, so I’ll tell you the truth, the book is incredibly amazing!

I really loved It’s All Love. As a fan of thoughtful quotes and affirmations I was excited since the moment I found out about the book. Honestly, some Jenna’s quotes are better than others. Some of them are a bit simple, they talk about things that most of people already know but sometimes ignore. Don’t get me wrong, this is not bad. What the book stands out are the reflections. That’s its strength. The quotes show us who is Jenna while the reflections show us how is Jenna. Her affirmations allow us to see what she can see, and through the reflections we can understand her thoughts.

Jenna reaches her readers on an emotional level by sharing personal experiences to help people find light in darkness. You have to be brave to show yourself vulnerable. Jenna Ortega is not afraid to tell about her days in darkness, about her tears, sadness and depression. This actress does a selfless act to show her readers that regardless of life’s blows, we can overcome our problems to find happiness and love. Those who have walked the path of darkness so many times know how to create their own light. Jenna knows this. That’s why she is really good when saying something that could help you to overcome your own problems and insecurities. This girl is able to share her own light.

Something that any fan would like is to know more about the life of their idol. This is something Jenna Ortega handles very well in her book. She doesn’t throw anecdotes or facts from her life randomly. She uses her own experiences to optimize her reflections and thus show that we are not so different, that we all have insecurities and that people on social media don’t have a perfect life. Besides, Jenna alludes to different projects and events in which she has been involved. A fan would know exactly what Jenna is talking about, understand every detail and therefore enjoy the book to the fullest.

Whether it’s a series she was involved in, a specific scene, a trip she took or some event she attended, Jenna brings it up causing her fans to say in their minds: “I know exactly what she’s talking about.” One of my favorite Easter eggs in the book is when Jenna refers to the day when she replied to Melania Trump wearing a jacket that says, “I DO CARE AND U SHOULD TOO.”

As someone who admires Jenna, I really love to know more about her as a person. As I read all the problems that Jenna has been through, I felt that she became more real, more authentic. She stopped being the idea that I had in my head and she became a person like any other. As I read about her depression, I began to admire her much more. I began to admire her for her courage and resilience. I started to believe that I shouldn’t prove anything to anyone, because it’s okay to suffer, it’s okay to have those moments when you feel like you can’t take it anymore, it’s okay to accept that you’re not having a good time. That was the effect It’s All Love had on me.

Nevertheless, you don’t need to know Jenna Ortega or follow her career to appreciate the beauty of It’s All Love. This is a book that speaks for itself. Jenna’s words are enough to give strength to her book. Her ability to touch the hearts of readers is impressive and she is truly capable of giving hope to those who have lost it. The beauty of the book is not due to Jenna’s fame and popularity, but because of the kind of person she is. It’s All Love is mainly aimed at young people, since many times we feel that our problems are greater than our ability to solve them. However, I have no doubt that this book may be useful for adults lost in themselves.

Like Jenna and like everyone else, I have found myself trapped in my own darkness. I had to overcome many things by myself, but there is always something we must fight for. It is amazing how we can get lost even when we are sure we have found the right path. This book would have helped me greatly three years ago. It contains really positive reflections that allow us to understand that we are not alone, and that despite how dark the tunnel can be, there is always the light at the end. I’m happy to say that I have overcome many things in my life, but there are still certain things to be solved, and this book has helped me continue. Thanks Jenna.

As I already mentioned, It’s All Love is really effective in reaching readers on an emotional level. Each word is written with light and love. It is a very personal book due to all the anecdotes the author shares with her readers. Jenna Ortega is brave. She is not afraid to show her most weaker and vulnerable side. Jenna doesn’t represent herself as a victim, but a person. She becomes a hero when telling everyone that all of us can be heroes. She is just a person, and a person is the most beautiful thing you can be. We must begin to be grateful for the bad times, because it is thanks to them that we become stronger and wiser. Jenna Ortega is so many things: an actress, a writer, an idol, a peacemaker, a latina, a sarcastic funny girl, a sister, a daughter, hope, love. And just as she tweeted once: el amor todo lo puede.

--

--