How Deleting Facebook Changed All My Social Media Habits

Abbey Fatica
4 min readNov 16, 2018
Photo by Johnny McClung on Unsplash

A picture is worth a thousand words.

A thousand precisely curated, perfect shot, filtered, very intentional words.

It’s been one month since I hit the delete my account button over on Facebook. There is a 30 day waiting period to make sure you are absolutely 100% positive you want to quit. Only once did I want to log in because there were pictures posted of my son’s all star football game (only available on Facebook). Instead of logging in, I tapped into my resources and had my sister go to the page and send me the pictures of him.

I beat the system!

Social Media Controlled My Life

For 14 years, I was active on Facebook since the time when you needed a college email to log in. I knew the ins and outs of how to beat the algorithm and stay at the top of people’s feeds. Meaning if you didn’t spend a lot of time on the app, your engagement would dip down and so would your exposure. And God forbid you took a break to be with your family on vacation or be present in life.

When I was on Facebook, I needed to capture everything that was happening around me. In my extremely active phase, I would document every thought that came across my mind. My goal was to get likes and comments to increase my engagement with…

--

--

Abbey Fatica

Writer, Author, Lover of all words and exclamation points!!! My children are the inspiration to my voice. Connect with me: http://abbeyfatica.com