Springtime activities to try with your dog

Abby Schaefer
6 min readMar 29, 2016

--

Jax the blue heeler enjoying the sunshine on his walk!

Spring is one of my favorite seasons because I always feel like emerging from a cold Wisconsin winter brings new life and energy to my body and mind. Nicer weather always makes me want to be more active, and my blue heeler Jax is always up for adventure! As a very active breed of dog, Jax gives me plenty of motivation to get outside and get moving, so I’m here to share some of that positive energy with you. Here are some of our favorite activities we like to do together to celebrate springtime in the Madison Wisconsin area!

1) Visiting the dog park

Dog parks are great because not only is there plenty of room for your dog to run and socialize with other dogs, but you can socialize with other dog lovers too! Plus most dog parks are fenced in so it’s safer to be off leash. The dog park does pose some challenges though. For example, some dogs are more friendly than others, so if your dog is a little shy just be aware that they may have to greet other, more excitable dogs, and vice versa. It’s always good to have a leash on you just in case. If you have a puppy, just take it slow! I find that the sooner you socialize your puppy at a young age (while still being supervised of course) the fewer problems you’ll have later on. Clink here for a full list of parks and their locations in Madison.

2) Hiking trails

Hiking is a beautiful way to get out and see all that nature has to offer. You can go at your own pace and challenge yourself when you feel like it. I find it very relaxing, and Jax loves to sniff and explore all he can! We have a few favorite spots, but I encourage others to get out there and explore new places when you can. Remember to bring a leash and some water for you and your pup. Warner Park is a great dg park with lots of hiking trails and other activities, check it out here!

3) Biking

This can take some time to train your dog to get used to, but biking is a great way to exercise some of the more energetic dogs out there, like my spunky heeler. If you bike near a road or on flat ground, I suggest having your dog run beside you on the opposite side of the road. The dog should stay at your side, as if you are jogging. There are devices you can attach to your bike that act as a leash, but be aware that if your dog does not keep pace with you or runs in a different direction you could fall. Like I mentioned before this takes time and some training, but the results are amazing. My mom is an avid mountain biker, and recently she has started taking Jax with her. At first he tried to bite the tires, but eventually he shifted his focus to the terrain and trying to run over obstacles and such. This really gets him tired and you can see his behavior shift from excited to calm almost immediately.

Okay this isn’t what I meant, but it’s pretty funny!

4) Agility courses

Teaching your dog how to master an agility course is a great way to strengthen your connection and learn how to better communicate with your dog. It requires you to work as a team and listen to each other in order to be successful. It also can instill confidence in dogs that are scared of some obstacles. Some classes are taught indoors when it’s colder, but when the weather warms up most courses are set up outside. If your looking for classes, check out Canine Sports Zone, located in Middleton WI. Or you can find many books on agility and how to buy or make your own equipment. Jax really excelled physically in agility, and it helped him learn to listen to me and obey commands, even if there where other dogs and distractions nearby.

5) Swimming

Jax loves relaxing by the pool!

This activity requires some warmer weather, but if your dog has a thicker coat or is a breed that loves to swim like my dog it’s hard to keep them out of the water even in March! Swimming is great exercise for dogs, and it helps teach them new motor skills. We have a boat and I like to take Jax with me, so I knew it was a necessity for him to learn how to swim early on. Even if you aren’t as nautical as I am, swimming can be a useful skill to have in an emergency, not to mention it keeps your dog cool when it starts to get hotter. You can take your dog to a lake or pond to swim, but even if you don’t have access to natural body of water some public swimming pools have special days that they are open to dogs. One example in Madison is Goodman Pool located near the Alliant Energy Center. When they are getting ready to close down the pool for the winter season in September, they open it up to dogs for a day. This is great socialization event for your pup and it sure if fun to watch them splash and play! Check out pics from last year’s event here!

6) Kayaking

Captain Jax!

This activity also requires some warmer weather, and your dog should know how to swim before you try it, but if you’re up for a fun challenge I highly recommend kayaking! My mom’s house is by the Rock River, so one day I decided I’d take the kayak out to the backyard and see if Jax would join me. To my surprise, he jumped right in and sat with me the whole time! This is not an activity for a nervous or overly excitable dog, as it requires balance and there will probably be other boats and distractions around. If you’re a beginner or new to kayaking, make sure you practice first and feel comfortable before you invite your dog to come with you. Don’t force it either; if your dog is not comfortable then find something else to do together. Jax loves to bite at the water while I paddle, so it keeps him hydrated. After about an hour he will start to get a bit restless, so I will normally stop and let him stretch his legs. I found kayaking to be more of a bonding activity than a physical one for Jax, so he still needs to run around a bit.

7) Camping

If you’re looking for a more long-term activity to do with your dog, camping is a great idea! Many campsites allow dogs, and what better way to get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life than sleeping under the stars with your best friend? Remember that not only do you have to pack for yourself, but your dog will also need supplies too like extra food, water, and shelter. Click here for a list of dog friendly campgrounds in Wisconsin

I hope you feel a bit more inspired to go out and explore some of these different springtime activities. If you have any other ideas, share them in the comments below; Jax and I would love to hear all about your adventures! There really is no better way to strengthen your bond with your dog and improve your physical and mental health than spending time outside with your furry friend, so get going!

--

--

Abby Schaefer

New to blogging, I love animals and travel! I’m about to graduate from UW Madison, just trying to find my way in the communication technology and PR world.