The Rainbow Color Concept in relation to Mental Health

Miss Small Creature
6 min readApr 11, 2024

Photo by: Yours Truly, captured after the rain 🫶

Imagine walking along the street on a heavy, rainy day with your shoes almost soaked in water and then a couple of minutes, the weather just starts to get better and brighter. When you look up, you see a beautiful rainbow. If that does not make you smile or happy, then I don’t know what else does.

“The greater your storm, the brighter your rainbow.” I have been carrying this motto with me everywhere I go since 6th grade. It’s one of the short quotes I’ve read from a school pamphlet. It remains to be a constant reminder for me that after the difficult trials in life, there’s going to be something beautifully invigorating in store for me.

There are 3 natural Phenomena that I consider breathtakingly wonderful. The Sun Dog, which can be seen as a halo where 2 beams of light are on both sides of the sun, a Lunar Eclipse and lastly, a Rainbow. The latter is my favorite, not just because it’s a more frequent occurrence than the other two but because it has a special symbolical meaning to me.

Personally, a rainbow signifies hope, beauty and diversity. In German/Deutsch, it’s called “Regenbogen”. I can’t exactly recall how many rainbows I’ve already witnessed all throughout my 30-something years of existence. Oh my God, did I just…

--

--

Miss Small Creature

Nurse by profession who's on her way to rekindling her love for writing. Welcome to my labyrinth of thoughts :) 📍Germany 🇩🇪