Abdo Baraka
1 min readApr 10, 2024

--

Maria, as someone who has been through the same path like you (but I got my Goethe B2 and then C1 certificates), every single thing you said resonated with me.

German is notoriously difficult and many people shy away from it indeed. But when it comes to studying in Germany and trying to eventually find a part-time job during your studies or a fulltime one afterwards, people find themselves 'forced' to learn it in such a short amount of time. Feeling 'forced' is in my opinion why people start to loath the whole process. Learning a language takes time; it's a lifelong activity. If you learn it without being pressured, chances are you will come to love it and get better and better at it.

I had this advantage before starting my MSc. degree at Germany where I spent almost 3 years of intensive German courses in Egypt. I learned the language without feeling stressed because I was staying at my parents' place and wasn't even certain that I'd travel to Germany for my master degree.

I was learning without pressure.

Fast forward, I'm giving German lessons to foreigners to help them prepare for integration exams in Germany, improve their writing and speaking skills, and fine tune their 'Grammatik'.

It has been a hell of a ride, and I can testify to everything you wrote in this article.

Weiteren Erfolg wünsche ich Ihnen. Mach's gut!

--

--