What You May Not Know About The Name TroTro

nature
4 min readMar 6, 2018

--

Tro-tro mini-van |Photo: Fiveprime|

Ever felt ashamed in a Trotro before?

I’m sure you’ve nodded yes or otherwise.

Nonetheless, that was my mood some days ago when a foreigner asked about the origin of the name “Tro-tro” and I couldn’t answer.

Though I’ve been using Trotro for years, I was surprised it had never crossed my mind to know Trotro beyond just a local name for a fleet of commercial vehicles.

For a quick relief, I turned to my co-commuters. And to my surprise, none had an idea about the name.

That was when I realised I was about to discover something for myself and for many others who maybe clueless about the origin of the name trotro.

Tro-tro Station at Tech Junction, Bomso

Allow me to share with you what I discovered. And perhaps, chip in something I learned on tips to consider when venturing into this transport business.

Rear of Tro-tro with slogan inscriptions

So Where From The Name Tro-tro?

Here’s what I stumbled on.

After combing scores of articles, I discovered the thief of my day.

I noticed the name TROTRO made it way into the scene through the Ga language – particularly from the the word “tro,” which means three (3) pence.

Pence, as you may not know, was nothing but the penny coins used in the colonial days of Ghana.

Pence was the fare for commercial transit vehicles. So operators of the commercial vehicles used to charge commuters three pence per trip.

And by way of prompting passengers to pay this fares, the conductors (mates) softly shout — “let me have your tro-tros (three-three pence)”.

And that was it!

The mode of fare collection became known as “tro-tros”.

And eventually, people associated style of the fare collection with the operation of the entire commercial transport system.

And that was how the name trotro came about.

Yes. That was it.

I have exhausted the foreigner’s question, you may take a look at the business side.

Starting a Trotro business?

Below is a lightly modified summary of a write-up by a virtual mentor — Joseph Amponsah. I find it insightful. And I’m sure you may enjoy it too.

Pre-Operation Tips

To start a Tro-tro business, the first and obvious thing you have to do is to get a minibus or a car.

The next step is to fulfil the regulatory and industry requirements before operations begin.

These requirements include vehicle registration at the authorized agency, road worthiness certification, insurance, income tax, add-ons to the vehicle such as yellow fenders, side embossments, reflectors etc.

Depending on your budget, you can start the business with a brand new vehicle or a used vehicle that is in good condition. But brand new vehicles as the name suggests are found to usually remain strong and well-conditioned for at least six years, whereas the used vehicles last for three years, beyond which repairs and maintenance cost begin to soar.

Another thing to note is that the business involves regular cash inflows by way of daily proceeds made from the journeys. So the cash needs to be banked regularly and managed appropriately to meet the possible financial obligations that may be required in future – by way of replacements, repairs and maintenance, statutory requirements like income tax and road worthiness, as well as insurance premiums

Post-Operational Risks and Challenges

The common and major challenges specific to this business are accidents, engine break downs and rise in fuel prices and sometimes robbery. Despite these seemingly tall challenges, you do not have to be discouraged from this investment.

Talk to an insurance company and the first two challenges will be buried. Though not 100% probable, it is advised that a sinking fund be created for the replacement of an body parts and the engine over the period.

To conclude…

The Tro-tro business it’s good. But if you want to go against the grain or you are a tech enthusiast, then you may opt to try the Uber transport business instead.

Uber’s impact in Ghana has already reared its head. It is one of the booming businesses.

Read more about it here.

Iconic slogan Lol

Adiós for now!

--

--