Visualizing Amal Fellowship

Abdullah Ishtiaq
2 min readMar 11, 2024

--

Amal Fellowship ended a couple of weeks ago, but still, my mind revolves around those sessions, thoughtful discussions, fun moments, and much more. Talking about the first 2 weeks, those were the days when I was nervous as well as excited for what was ahead. The activity which reminds me of that specific time is the Marshmallow Challenge.

Flexing our Marshmallow Tower

The specific object which reminds me of this activity is just a ‘pen’. The reason behind this is the exit ticket of that session. For the exit ticket, we had to highlight three values that were crucial to us. One of the values I highlighted was Teamwork, and to demonstrate that, I used pens to build a tower, just like a marshmallow one, probably because that was still going on in my mind.

Pens demonstrate teamwork, a single pen won’t be able to stand tall but supporting others will give itself support too.

My experience of the marshmallow challenge was all fun, but the learning I got from it was a serious one. I learned that you don’t need to be an expert in anything to get started with it. You just need a good learning aptitude and willingness to take challenges, and you will learn along the way. The most interesting part of it was when Ma’am Kanza told us about the fact that children had beaten great professionals like businessmen and engineers in this challenge just because of JustStart attitude. All you need is to have fun along the way.

Pens will remind of this time always:)

The first two weeks at fellowship were all about exploring yourself. I got to know about my strengths and weaknesses, got my goals clearer, and found the reasons behind them. I discovered my learning attitude towards new skills and also got to know the values that I hold close to myself. All the activities in those weeks were focused on knowing who you are, and I can certainly say that I fulfilled the purpose of those activities.

--

--