Pomodoro Technique

Abehashahab
2 min readApr 18, 2022

A method for managing your time, increasing your productivity, and focusing your attention.

What is Pomodoro Technique?

Pomodoro activity is a time management approach that can help you avoid procrastination and enhance your productivity while working on your project.

Francesco Cirillo, a university student at the time, invented the Pomodoro Technique in the late 1980s. Cirillo was having trouble concentrating on his academics and completing projects. He set a goal for himself to devote only 10 minutes of focused study time. Encouraged by the challenge, he discovered a tomato-shaped kitchen timer (Pomodoro in Italian), and the Pomodoro technique was created.

There are six steps to the Pomodoro technique’s main process:

1. Make a task plan ( estimate time how long your task will take )
2. Put a 25-minute timer on your clock.
3. Work until the timer beeps.
4. When the timer goes off, acknowledge your accomplishments (make a check mark on a piece of paper).
5. Have a rest ( 3 to 5 min)
6. Take a longer break once you’ve completed 4 Pomodoro's ( between 5 to 30 min).

My own experience with the Pomodoro Technique:

On my semester project, I use this technique:

1. Analyze my project and split it down into manageable bits.
2. Establish a schedule for each portion.
3. For each portion, I write out all of the action steps.
4. I use the Pomodoro Technique when working on each portion.

This activity assists me in managing my workload. I am able to concentrate and focus more on my work. I am initially distracted, but as I practice this technique, I will become accustomed to it. This activity assists me in avoiding procrastination.

Please leave a comment and share your thoughts .

--

--