How to get Financial Aid for IBM Data Science Professional Certificate on Coursera.

Esther Abel
4 min readOct 16, 2022

--

IBM Data Science Professional Certificate

IBM Digital Badge

One of the requirements for graduating from the Women Techsters Fellowship Class of 2023 organized by Tech4Dev and Microsoft is that we complete two professional certification courses in line with our learning track.

As a student of the data science and Artificial Intelligence track, I had to choose from several courses including the IBM data science professional certification course.

I checked the course content and saw how impactful it would be and as well help me achieve the requirement for me to graduate from the fellowship. However, I could not afford the course fee to be honest. So, I decided to apply for Financial Aid.

In this article, I will be explaining every step I took to get the IBM Data Science Professional Course.

Steps:

  1. Since I already have a Coursera account, I logged into my account on Coursera. Click here to create an account if you do not have one.
  2. I searched for the IBM Data Science Professional Certificate course on Coursera.

3. Navigated to the financial aid section and selected the financial aid option.

Tell us about yourself (1/2)

  1. What’s your highest level of education?

I wrote my highest level of education here which is a university degree.

2. What’s your annual income?

State your annual income.

3. What’s your employment status?

I clearly stated that I am a recent graduate and as such do not have the financial capacity to take the course without aid.

4. Why are you applying for Financial Aid? (150 words minimum required)

Here I wrote about myself and my passion to learn data science. I also included my desire for practical knowledge and professional certifications and how it is difficult for me to gather such an amount of money for the certificate as a fresh graduate.

Example: My name is Abel Esther, I am a fresh graduate from the federal university of technology Owerri. I studied information technology and I am looking to expand my career in Data science. As a fresh graduate, getting a good job requires practical knowledge and professional certifications. This is why I am applying for financial aid for this course.

This IBM Data science course will boost my job prospects in the IT field. Completing this course will boost my self-confidence, and practical knowledge, knowing that I completed a very important task and was responsible for creating a foundation for getting myself closer to my career goals. I also intend to participate in Discussion Forums, and peer grading sessions and learn from great IBM professionals.

My goal is to complete the data science certification within six months and seek opportunities to practice and implement what I have learned in a reputable organization.

How much can you pay for your selected course? (2/2)

  1. How will your selected course help with your goals? (150 words minimum required).

I Explained my career goals and the time limit I have given myself to achieve them. I also explained how this certification would boost my chances of getting a highly-paid job.

2. Terms & Conditions

Finally, agree to the terms and conditions and click on review. Once you have submitted your application for review, do not click on free trial/subscribe after applying, that may cancel your application for financial aid.

Congratulations your application has been submitted successfully, the application takes two weeks to be reviewed.

The IBM Data Science Professional Certificate is made up of ten (10) courses, and you will apply for Financial Aid for each of the 10 courses.

Hope you enjoyed reading this, you can connect with me on Linkedin, Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter. Follow me on medium for future articles. Kindly drop a review in the comment. Clap, like, and share this article.

Thank you.

--

--

Esther Abel

I am a Data Analyst/Scientist. I work with various tools such as Excel, Google Data Studio, Power BI, MySQL, Python.