How to switch careers and not start from the bottom

Abhilash K B
2 min readJun 13, 2022

--

Hesitating from applying for different roles for the fear of starting from scratch?

For 9 years, I was marketing lighting controls. Then, I made a hard right & became a Technical Writer. I moved from lighting to writing, as I like to say.

But I wasn’t taken on as a fresher in writing. Some learnings.

If you have worked somewhere, you have some experience.

Not only must you demonstrate that you have experience, but also that it is relevant to the new job.

But the onus is on you to do that. The hiring manager can only read what you’ve written in your résumé and listen to what you are saying. Don’t expect them to put extra effort into divining your superpowers.

To do that, you need to be convinced that your skills are transferable.

#1. Start with skills that are role-agnostic.

There are a few basic skills that are required in almost any job role.

It’s surprising how often candidates gloss over them. Asking good questions, being a good listener, communicating effectively, etc. Start with these skills first.

#2. Think of skills specific to your current or previous roles.

You have at least one specific responsibility.

Bring out the most important skill that you have. How do I know you have it? Well, you’ve been doing that job!

#3. Connect those skills to the new role.

I’ll admit this will take some effort.

But it will be worth it. Make the hiring manager think; convince them that you have everything you need to do the job. Except for a similar job title.

Read this post and more on my Typeshare Social Blog

--

--

Abhilash K B

Someone who switched industries from lighting to writing. I am currently a technical writer... so, technically, I am a writer! http://ajyl.online/about